Databases by Subject/Topic: Anthropology

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Anthropology

JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
Anthropology PlusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers topics in Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnography, and other topics related to Anthropology. Coverage dates: 19th century - Current.
AnthroSourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Archive of articles and news published by the American Anthropological Association. Coverage dates: Varies.

Social Sciences Librarian

Robyn Reid

r.reid@tcu.edu
817.257.5337

office: Reference office (Map)

More databases for Anthropology

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Alexander Street VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
High quality academic films from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, and Sony Pictures Classics. Coverage dates: 1900s to present.
America: History and Life with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Secondary sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, covering American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
American Indian Histories and CulturesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection about Native American history. Coverage dates: 1492-present.
Bibliography of Native North AmericansAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books and articles published about Native Americans. Coverage dates: 16th century - Current.
EVIA Digital Archive ProjectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A digital archive of ethnographic field videos.
Family & Society Studies WorldwideAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, (FSWW) provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources. FSSW provides access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage dates: 1970 to present.
Films On DemandAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
FoD is a growing repository of on-demand video for multiple subject disciplines. Content is from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, History Channel, National Geographic, TED and television networks such as BBC and CBC. Embedding or linking to videos is possible and transcripts are available.
Guide to Social Science and ReligionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Guide to Social Science and Religion indexes over 100 publications in the Social Sciences and Religion. Subject and keyword searches are provided. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
HathiTrustAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: Varies.
HRAF ArchaeologyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An online cross-cultural database containing information on world’s prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Coverage dates: Mostly prehistory.
HRAF World CulturesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents. Coverage dates: Historical to present.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Data archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 to Current.
KanopyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Kanopy, a new multidisciplinary educational video database, is now branching into popular, Hollywood and foreign film as well. Performance rights are included with videos in this database. Clips, playlists and embedding are possible. Links are available from "Share/embed" within each video record. Coverage dates: 1890s to present.
North American Indian Thought and CultureAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Indian Thought and Culture represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Coverage dates: 17th - 21st centuries.
Open Book PublishersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
A Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press, with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read for free online. Coverage dates: 2007-present.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Coverage dates: Varies.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest. Coverage dates: 1950-1975.
Sage PremierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Access full text and abstracts of journals in a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Coverage dates: 1999 - Current.
SAGE Resarch Methods DatasetsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. These datasets are indexed by method and data type. Through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made.
SAGE Research Methods VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
Social Sciences Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of social sciences; full bibliographic and cited reference data. Disciplines include: communication, education, geography, history of social sciences, law, political science, public health, social issues, sociology. Coverage dates: 1956 - Current.
SocINDEX with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - Current.
Wiley Online LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: Varies.
Return to top