Databases by Subject/Topic: English

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for English

MLA International BibliographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. This electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage dates: 1926 - Current.
JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
Literature Resource CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods, covering more than 111,250 novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists. Some of the types of information included are criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, Web sites, periodical articles, full-text author's works, and reading lists. Users can search by author and work. Coverage dates: Varies.

Humanities and Theatre Research Librarian

Ammie E. Harrison

a.harrison@tcu.edu
817.257.5338

office: Reference (Map)


Appointments are wonderful,
Drop-ins are great,
If you got a question,
Don't hesitate!!!

More databases for English

19th Century UK PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source periodical literature from the UK. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Accessible ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains digitized historical books, periodicals and newspapers from the American 19th Century. Coverage dates: 19th century.
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for African American Studies. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1619 - Current.
Alexander Street VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
High quality academic films from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, and Sony Pictures Classics. Coverage dates: 1900s to present.
American Doctoral DissertationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. Coverage dates: 1902 to present.
American Periodicals SeriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary full text collection of 1100+ periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage dates: 1740 - 1900.
L'Année philologique / Database of Classical BibliographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Updated annually, this international bibliography of books, periodical articles, and dissertations covering classical antiquity indexes publications about the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. Many entries contain short abstracts. Coverage dates: 1969 - 1999.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
AustLitAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Indexes Australian literary content from a range of print and electronic information sources. The majority of records for literary works provide citations and library holdings information for published works. However, a range of selected full text of both creative and critical works is available. Coverage dates: 1676 - Current.
Book Review Digest PlusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Book Review Digest Plus contains descriptive summaries of books, citations for book reviews, and many full text book reviews. Both fiction and non-fiction books are reviewed. Coverage dates: 1983 - Current.
Book Review Index OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A comprehensive online guide to book reviews with over five million review citations from thousands of publications. Coverage dates: 1965 - present.
Books in PrintAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides complete publishers information, bibliographic, book ordering and subject classification information for all titles covered. Includes all types of books covering all subjects, provided they are published or exclusively distributed in the U.S. Audio books and video titles are also included. Coverage dates: Varies.
British and Irish Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Coverage dates: 1500 - 1950.
British Library NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains the full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent 19th century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers. Collection also includes newspapers that lead particular political or social movements. The penny papers are also in the collection. Coverage dates: 19th century.
British Periodicals Collection I & IIAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
British Periodicals Collection I and II consists of more than 300 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Coverage dates: 1681 - 1920.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index with Full Text LinksAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books, periodicals, government documents, and newspaper articles published in the 19th century. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from the Friends of the TCU Library. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean. Covers Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures, and daily life. It features more than 140 newspapers. Most of these newspapers were published in the English, but a number are in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region, is included. Coverage dates: 1718-1876.
Choice Reviews OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Choice Reviews Online reviews significant current books and electronic resources of interest to those in higher education. Updated monthly, thousands of items are reviewed each year by subject experts. Coverage dates: 1998 - Current.
Communication SourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for Communication Studies. Coverage dates: 1920s to Current.
Contemporary AuthorsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides biographical information, critical sources for further research and bibliographical details on over 120,000 modern U.S. and international authors. Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
Contemporary Literary Criticism SelectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical information, principal works, and critical sources for further research. Coverage dates: 1997 - Current.
Daily Express ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Digital version of the Daily Express newspaper. Coverage dates: 1900 to present.
Defining GenderAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source documents that cover topics in gender studies and includes topics such as the family, education, and consumer culture. Coverage dates: 1450 - 1910.
Dictionary of Irish Biography OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Published in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy, the Dictionary of Irish Biography is a comprehensive and authoritative reference work for Ireland. The dictionary outlines the careers at home and overseas of prominent people born in Ireland, north and south, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland. Coverage dates: Ancient - 2002.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The essays of the Dictionary of Literary Biography outline the lives and careers of nearly 10,000 authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Dustbooks eDirectoriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Online versions of The International Directory of Little Magazines & Small Presses; The Directory of Poetry Publishers; The Directory of Small Press/Magazine Editors & Publishers; and The Small Press Record of Books in Print, which are all leading sources in small press information. Coverage dates: Current.
Early American ImprintsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631-1819.
Early English Books OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Early English Books Online contains full text of over 125,000 titles, spanning 1473 to 1700, from Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Works are from Great Britain, British North America, and texts in English printed elsewhere. Coverage dates: Varies.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains searchable digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and thousands of American works. Coverage dates: 1701 - 1800.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Gale Artemis Literary SourcesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This interface allows you to search all of Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Material includes critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource. Coverage dates: Varies.
Harpers Weekly 1857-1912Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Weekly American newspaper. Coverage dates: 1857-1912.
Humanities Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Humanities International IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
Irish Newspaper ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Irish Newspaper Archive contains over 6 million pages in over 500,000 issues of Irish newspapers. Coverage dates: 1763 - Current.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic PeriodAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes the poetry of, and biographical and critical essays about, 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Coverage dates: 1768 - 1842.
IterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
TCU subscribes to two Iter databases. Iter Bibliography is a bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Iter Italicum is the most comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Coverage dates: 400 - 1700.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. Coverage dates: Classical to modern times.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations and citations to book reviews Coverage dates: 1973-Current.
Literature CompassAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
This online refereed journal/database contains the full text of survey articles, short viewpoint articles, mini-reviews of books, reading recommendations and Blackwell's Companions. Literature Compass covers these areas of literature: Medieval, Renaissance, Shakespeare, 17th Century, 18th Century, Romanticism, The Victorians, 20th Century, and American. Coverage dates: Medieval - Current.
Literature Criticism OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Literature Criticism Online includes six Thompson-Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, and Short Story Criticism. Volumes before 2007 are included, however, some early texts are not available online. These texts can be obtained in print from offsite storage. Coverage dates: 1400-Current.
Loeb Classical LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The digital Loeb Classical Library offers online editions of every book in the Loeb Classical Library in print. Greek and Latin texts are offered alongside English translations. Coverage dates: Classical.
London Low LifeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This digital collection of primary source documents brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London. Materials include: Fast literature, posters & advertisements; penny fiction; cartoons; chapbooks; Swell's guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens; reform literature; and interactive mapping. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
MLA Directory of PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the database. Entries include the following information: editorial addresses, phone numbers, e-mail addresses, publication frequency, periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, submission guidelines, statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, and how many are submitted.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection covering the 19th century. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1900.
Nineteenth Century MasterfileAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of historical periodicals, newspapers, books, U.S. Congressional Record, U.S. and U.K. government documents, and U.S. patents. Coverage dates: 1786 - 1930.
North American Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women. Material has been indexed for more thorough searching. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests, and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. Includes biographies. Coverage dates: Colonial America - 1950.
Open Book PublishersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
A Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press, with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read for free online. Coverage dates: 2007-present.
OrlandoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides information about women's writings in the British Isles with entries on authors' lives and writing careers, contextual material, timelines, sets of internal links, and bibliographies. Coverage dates: Through Current.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Coverage dates: Varies.
Past MastersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Past Masters is a collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. The series also includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics. Coverage dates: Medieval - Current.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest. Coverage dates: 1950-1975.
ProCitizenAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An online course to prepare new Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Project MUSE provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Scribner WritersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Scribner Writers contains the full text for more than 1600 critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Entries include hyperlinks for cross-referencing, citation, and biographical information. Coverage dates: Varies.
Shakespeare Survey OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. It makes all issues available. Survey publishes the best international scholarship in English. Each volume is devoted to a theme, play, or group of plays, and contains reviews of that year's textual and critical studies and of the year's major British performances. Coverage dates: 1948 - Current.
Short Story IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes more than 84,000 stories, and includes the full text of more than 1,600 stories. Coverage dates: 1984 - Current.
Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice contains both primary source documents and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Coverage dates: 1490-2007.
Something About the Author OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Something About the Author Online provides comprehensive online access to all volumes ever of the series, which examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Times Literary Supplement Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
An indexed full-text/full-image database of TLS issues. One of the unique features of TLS Centenary Archive is the inclusion of the names of original contributors to pre-1974 issues. Coverage dates: 1902 - 2010.
Twayne's Authors SeriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Twayne's Authors Series contains the full text literary criticism about the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Content is from nearly 600 books from the following three print series – United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors Coverage dates: Varies.
Twentieth Century Poetry (American and English)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry contains the full text of 50,000 poems by over 300 modern and contemporary poets. Twentieth-Century English Poetry contains the full text of poems by 283 English poets from 1900 to the present day. Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
Victorian DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers the Victorian age, 1830-1914. It lists editions, books, dissertations, and articles published in more than 500 journals in every field of 19th century British Studies. Journal coverage extends from 1945 to the present. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
Virginia Company ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection contains documents and papers from the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. Additionally, the papers document settlements in North America, including the Bermudas, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, tensions and early relations between colonists and Native Americans, and London’s early economic history. Coverage dates: 1590-1790.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900, is a subject bibliography of 50,000 publications intending to include every periodical and newspaper published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every language, within England during the time period. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
William Michael Rossetti ProjectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The WMR Project is a digitally sortable text archive consisting of over two hundred critical articles published by William Michael Rossetti in multiple Victorian periodicals spanning the years 1848 to 1909 Coverage dates: 1849-1909.
Women and Social Movements in the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents and 145,000 pages of full-text documents. It also includes a digital archive of 90,000 pages of publications of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women and an edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary Notable American Women. Coverage dates: 1600 - 2000.
Women Writers OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A project of the Brown University Women Writers Project, a long-term research project devoted to digitizing works of early modern women, the database includes approximately 350 writings by women in English (1400-1850). Texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter. Coverage dates: 1400 - 1850.
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced worldwide. Coverage dates: 1968 - Current.
Return to top