Databases by Subject/Topic: History

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for History

JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
America: History and Life with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Secondary sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, covering American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.

Social Sciences Librarian

Robyn Reid

r.reid@tcu.edu
817.257.5337

office: Reference office (Map)

More databases for History

19th Century UK PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source periodical literature from the UK. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Access NewspaperArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains historical newspaper articles. Coverage dates: 1759 - 2006.
Access World NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains more recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: Early 20th century - Current.
Accessible ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains digitized historical books, periodicals and newspapers from the American 19th Century. Coverage dates: 19th century.
ACLS HumanitiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Includes more than 4300 ebook titles, and adds about 300 titles to the collection each year. Subject strengths include history, economics, politics and women's studies. Coverage dates: Varies.
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for African American Studies. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1619 - Current.
Alexander Street VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
High quality academic films from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, and Sony Pictures Classics. Coverage dates: 1900s to present.
American Civil War Research DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains images and information about soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Coverage dates: 1861 - 1865.
American Civil War: Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
More than 400 sources of diaries, letters, and memoirs. Includes 100,000 pages of re-keyed and indexed text, including 4,000 facsimile pages of previously unpublished manuscript material. Coverage dates: 1855-1875.
American Doctoral DissertationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. Coverage dates: 1902 to present.
American History in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming historical documentary films from PBS and the History Channel as well as original newsreels from 1929-1967. Coverage dates: 16th century - 1990s.
American History, 1493-1945Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains primary source documents relating to American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Coverage dates: 1493-1945.
American Indian Histories and CulturesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection about Native American history. Coverage dates: 1492-present.
American National Biography OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A searchable collection of 18,000 biographies, thousands of illustrations, 80,000+ hyperlinked cross-references, links to select web sites, and powerful search capabilities. Limited to 5 users at once.
American Periodicals SeriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary full text collection of 1100+ periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. Coverage dates: 1740 - 1900.
American WestAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection covering topics about the American West. Coverage dates: 18th century-early 20th century.
America's Historical NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Historical newspaper articles published mostly in the 18th Century. Coverage dates: 1690 - 1876.
Ancestry.comAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Genealogy database providing access to U.S. and U.K. census data, ship's logs and passenger indexes, vital records, WWI draft cards, maps, reference books, and more. Basic library subscription. You will need a personal subscription to create a tree and save documents. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1940.
L'Année philologique / Database of Classical BibliographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Updated annually, this international bibliography of books, periodical articles, and dissertations covering classical antiquity indexes publications about the history, language, literature and civilization of ancient Greece and Rome. Many entries contain short abstracts. Coverage dates: 1969 - 1999.
AP ImagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A keyword searchable archive of photos, graphics, text, and audio from the Associated Press. Coverage dates: 1840 - Current.
Archive FinderAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A current directory describing over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. Limited to 4 users at once.
ArchiveGridAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
An important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. It provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Coverage dates: Renaissance - 20th century.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent newspaper from the South. Coverage dates: 1868-1945.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Black newspaper from the South. Coverage dates: 1931-2003.
Austin American-StatesmanAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent Texas newspaper. Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
Bibliography of Asian StudiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) indexes articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. It contains research and scholarly articles on Asia written in western languages. Coverage dates: 1971 - Current.
Bibliography of Native North AmericansAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books and articles published about Native Americans. Coverage dates: 16th century - Current.
Biographies Online (Marquis)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides biographical information and major accomplishments for more than 1.4 million inidviduals worldwide. Often referred to as Who's Who. Limited to 5 users at once. Coverage dates: 1607 - Current.
Biography in ContextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Gale Biography in Context includes biographical material from authoritative reference works, full-text newspapers, journals, and video and audio clips from NBC and NPR
British and Irish Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Coverage dates: 1500 - 1950.
British Library NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains the full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent 19th century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers. Collection also includes newspapers that lead particular political or social movements. The penny papers are also in the collection. Coverage dates: 19th century.
British Periodicals Collection I & IIAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
British Periodicals Collection I and II consists of more than 300 journals spanning the late 17th through early 20th centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Coverage dates: 1681 - 1920.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index with Full Text LinksAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books, periodicals, government documents, and newspaper articles published in the 19th century. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from the Friends of the TCU Library. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent black newspaper. Coverage dates: 1910-1975.
Chicago Manual of StyleAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online allows you to search or browse the full text of the latest edition. Tools, such as sample forms, proofreader's marks, letters, and style sheets are also provided. Limited to 25 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
Chicago Tribune HistoricalAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the midwest. Coverage dates: 1849-1993.
Christian-Muslim Relations I: 600 - 1500Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online is a general online history of relations between the faiths. It covers the period from 600 to 1500, when encounters took place through the extended Mediterranean basin and are recorded in Syriac, Arabic, Greek, Latin and other languages. Christian Muslim Relations Online comprises introductory essays on the treatment of Christians in the Qur’an, Qur’an commentaries, biographies of the Prophet, Hadith and Sunni law, and of Muslims in canon law, and the main body of more than two hundred detailed entries on all the works recorded, whether surviving or lost. Coverage dates: 600-1500.
Christian-Muslim Relations II: 1500 – 1900Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Christian-Muslim Relations, a Bibliographical History Online, is a general history of relations between the two faiths as this is represented in works written by Christians and Muslims about the other and against the other. It covers all parts of the world in the period 1500-1914. Christian-Muslim Relations comprises thousands of comprehensive entries on individual works and their authors, together with introductory essays to the periods and areas covered, making it the fullest available source in this field. Coverage dates: 1500-1914.
Chronicling AmericaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains newspaper publication information and articles. Coverage dates: 1860 - 1922.
Congressional Hearings (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ProQuest Congressional hearings Part A provides full text to every published and unpublished Congressional hearing from 1824 through 1979. Coverage dates: 1824-1979.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains full-text for congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, and history. Coverage dates: 1789 - Current.
Congressional Research Digital CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to congressional committee prints and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. Coverage dates: 1830 - Current.
Daily Express ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Digital version of the Daily Express newspaper. Coverage dates: 1900 to present.
Daily Mail Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1896-2004.
Dallas Morning NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search for full-text articles from this local Texas newspaper. Coverage dates: 1885 - Current.
Dallas Morning News Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search for full text articles from historical editions of this newspaper. Coverage dates: 1885 - 1977.
Defining GenderAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source documents that cover topics in gender studies and includes topics such as the family, education, and consumer culture. Coverage dates: 1450 - 1910.
Dictionary of Irish Biography OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Published in collaboration with the Royal Irish Academy, the Dictionary of Irish Biography is a comprehensive and authoritative reference work for Ireland. The dictionary outlines the careers at home and overseas of prominent people born in Ireland, north and south, and the noteworthy Irish careers of those born outside Ireland. Coverage dates: Ancient - 2002.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global searches millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, and has over one million dissertations in full text. Coverage dates: 1743 - Current.
Early American ImprintsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631-1819.
Early English Books OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Early English Books Online contains full text of over 125,000 titles, spanning 1473 to 1700, from Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Works are from Great Britain, British North America, and texts in English printed elsewhere. Coverage dates: Varies.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains searchable digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and thousands of American works. Coverage dates: 1701 - 1800.
Encyclopedia of IslamAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Encyclopaedia of Islam (Second Edition) Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is a unique and invaluable reference tool, an essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. Coverage dates: 600-present.
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic WorldAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online (EJIW) is the first cohesive and discrete reference work which covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World Online is updated with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material. Coverage dates: 600 - present.
Essay and General Literature IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Essay and General Literature Index cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Coverage dates: 1983 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic Newswatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage dates: 1959 to Current.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Family & Society Studies WorldwideAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, (FSWW) provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources. FSSW provides access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage dates: 1970 to present.
Fort Worth Star-TelegramAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Search for full-text articles from this local Texas newspaper. Coverage dates: 1902 - Current.
Fort Worth Star-Telegram Digital Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This database provides full text of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram from 1902 through 1991. Search options include the ability to limit to articles, matrimony notices, birth notices, and obituaries. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are also included. Major news topics and events are highlighted. Coverage dates: 1902-1991.
GenderWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
GenderWatch contains full text publications that focus on the historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles. The database contains academic literature as well as gray and popular literature. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Global CommoditiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
One of the most popular ways of teaching World History is through the story of Global Commodities and the way in which these transformed the world. This project focuses on fifteen significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined. Coverage dates: 18th-20th Century.
Guardian and The ObserverAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1791-2003.
Handbook of Latin American StudiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to all patrons.
An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various topics in the humanities and social sciences, Handbook of Latin American studies have academic scholars choose choose over 5,000 works to be included in the bibliography. Coverage dates: 1936 - Current.
Handbook of TexasAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association and University of Texas at Austin. Coverage dates: 1999.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains more than 500 key Latin American journal articles with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States dating back to 1970. It contains complete bibliographic citations and limited full text. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Harpers Weekly 1857-1912Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Weekly American newspaper. Coverage dates: 1857-1912.
HathiTrustAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: Varies.
HeinOnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable PDF image-based, government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. Coverage dates: Late 18th century to present.
Heritage QuestAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Genealogy research indexing census, ship passenger lists, marriage, and other vital records as well as family history full text books. Access to PERSI, the premier source for journals relating to genealogy. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1930.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (HAN) represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Including many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English. As part of the America's Historical Newspapers, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 can be cross-searched with Early American Imprints. Coverage dates: 1808 - 1980.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Statistical data representing United States history. Coverage dates: 1790 - 2000.
Houston ChronicleAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper in Texas. Coverage dates: 1901 - Current.
HRAF ArchaeologyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An online cross-cultural database containing information on world’s prehistory. The annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions and the documents are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies. Coverage dates: Mostly prehistory.
HRAF World CulturesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An online cross-cultural and ethnographic database that contains descriptive information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and every document is subject-indexed at the paragraph level, facilitating precise retrieval within documents. Coverage dates: Historical to present.
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and MagazinesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Important and rare periodicals from Confederate, Union, Abolitionist, and British Presses Coverage dates: 1860-1865.
Images of the American Civil WarAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Photographs, Posters, and ephemera documenting military and civilian life during the American Civil War. Coverage dates: 1860 - 1865.
Index IslamicusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literature. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Coverage dates: 1906 to present.
Index of Medieval ArtAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An immense visual archive of medieval art, describing and presenting iconographic subjects and images from early apostolic times to the early modern era. Coverage dates: Early apostolic times to approximately 1400 AD.
Irish Newspaper ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Irish Newspaper Archive contains over 6 million pages in over 500,000 issues of Irish newspapers. Coverage dates: 1763 - Current.
IterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
TCU subscribes to two Iter databases. Iter Bibliography is a bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Iter Italicum is the most comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Coverage dates: 400 - 1700.
Loeb Classical LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The digital Loeb Classical Library offers online editions of every book in the Loeb Classical Library in print. Greek and Latin texts are offered alongside English translations. Coverage dates: Classical.
London Low LifeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This digital collection of primary source documents brings to life the teeming streets of Victorian London. Materials include: Fast literature, posters & advertisements; penny fiction; cartoons; chapbooks; Swell's guides to London prostitution, gambling and drinking dens; reform literature; and interactive mapping. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Los Angeles Times HistoricalAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the West Coast. Coverage dates: 1881-1991.
Making of AmericaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Primary source documents collection covering topics in American social history. Coverage dates: 1800s.
MyHeritage Library EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
MyHeritage Library Edition contains millions of historical records from around the world. Records include historical photographs; citizenship & naturalization records; the USA federal census (1790-1940) and the UK census (1841-1901; tombstone photos; military records, immigration records, and passenger lists; directories, guides, references, biographies, and yearbooks; wills and probate records. Coverage dates: 1538-present.
Nation Archive Premium EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent American weekly magazine. Coverage dates: 1865 - present.
New Republic ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Magazine providing an in-depth look at American politics, foreign policy, and culture. Coverage dates: 1914 - present.
New York TimesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current.
New York Times (Historical)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: 1851 - 4 years ago.
Niles RegisterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source for news relevant to courtrooms and legislatures. Coverage dates: 1811 - 1849.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection covering the 19th century. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1900.
Nineteenth Century MasterfileAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of historical periodicals, newspapers, books, U.S. Congressional Record, U.S. and U.K. government documents, and U.S. patents. Coverage dates: 1786 - 1930.
Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to full text newspaper content and images from a range of U.S. urban and rural regions during the 19th century. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and antebellum life. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
North American Indian Thought and CultureAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Indian Thought and Culture represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Coverage dates: 17th - 21st centuries.
North American Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women. Material has been indexed for more thorough searching. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests, and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. Includes biographies. Coverage dates: Colonial America - 1950.
Official Museum Directory OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Online version of the Official Museum Directory. Includes all types of museums within the United States. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: Current.
Open Book PublishersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
A Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press, with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read for free online. Coverage dates: 2007-present.
Opinion ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides abstracts to the archives of America's oldest political, cultural and religious magazines. These journals represent the spectrum of opinion from progressive to conservative, Catholic, Jewish, Latin American, environmental as well as international coverage. Coverage dates: 1850 - Current.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Coverage dates: Varies.
Oxford Reference OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Brings together 100+ renowned dictionaries and reference works. Cross-searchable access to comprehensive coverage 20+ subject areas. Note: The TCU Library has purchased access to the Core Collection, the Premium Collection, and the Literature Collection. Limited to 5 users at once.
Past MastersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Past Masters is a collection of full text electronic editions in philosophy. The series also includes significant collections in political thought, religious studies, sociology, the history of science, economics, and classics. Coverage dates: Medieval - Current.
Pittsburgh CourierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent black newspaper from the east. Coverage dates: 1911-2002.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest. Coverage dates: 1950-1975.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Project MUSE provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Race Relations AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books and articles relevant to topics in race relations including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration. Coverage dates: 1975 to Current.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s. Coverage dates: 1890-1982.
Rock's BackpagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
RBP is the World’s only comprehensive online archive of music journalism and writing, providing access to an ever-expanding collection of primary-source, full-text music writing (currently over 32,000 articles), sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press. Not just a resource for music courses, but also journalism, literature, national and international cultural studies, gender studies, sociology, politics and economics. RBP contains articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the '50s up to present day and includes a growing collection of exclusive audio interviews. The content represents the work of over 670 of the best music writers on the planet from over 4,500 publications (Rolling Stone, NME etc etc), representing over 2,500 artists from all genres of music. Coverage dates: 1950 to present.
RotundaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains primary source documents relevant to the drafting of the United States Constitution and early presidential papers. Coverage dates: Late 18th - early 19th century, 20th century.
Sabin AmericanaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source documents relevant to the history of the Americas, including Central, North, and South America. Coverage dates: 1500-1926.
SAGE Resarch Methods DatasetsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. These datasets are indexed by method and data type. Through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made.
SAGE Research Methods VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
Salem Press OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Salem Press Online provides online access to reference books published by Salem Press. Coverage dates: Prehistory - 21st Century.
San Francisco Chronicle HistoricalAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the West Coast. Coverage dates: 1865-1922.
Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice contains both primary source documents and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Coverage dates: 1490-2007.
TCU Daily SkiffAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes these TCU publications: The Skiff, Image, TCU Magazine and TCU This Week. (The Skiff portion covers issues from 1993 to current.) Coverage dates: 1993 - Current.
Teacher Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books for K-12 teachers and librarians.
Texas Digital Sanborn MapsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Coverage dates: 1867 - 1970.
Texas Historical NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Collection of newspapers published in Texas. Coverage dates: 1829 - 1922.
Texas Records and Information Locator (TRAIL)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Provides access to Texas state government information from over 150 Texas agencies. Topics include education, business, economics, geography, government, history, laws and regulations, cities and counties, and more. Coverage dates: Current.
Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is a full text collection of Greek texts and translations that can be searched and read online. Most texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 are available. Coverage dates: Varies.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-onwardsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Offers every issue of The Times of London newspaper from 1785 to 2008 in a digital format. Coverage dates: 1785-six years before Current year.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
U.S. Government publications including Congressional reports, documents, executive agency reports, departmental reports, and legislative reports, all published under the directive of Congress. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from Dr. Paul Boller. Coverage dates: 1789 - 1969; 2004 - Current.
US Major DailiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day. Images are not included. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current day.
Victorian DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers the Victorian age, 1830-1914. It lists editions, books, dissertations, and articles published in more than 500 journals in every field of 19th century British Studies. Journal coverage extends from 1945 to the present. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
Virginia Company ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection contains documents and papers from the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624. Additionally, the papers document settlements in North America, including the Bermudas, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, tensions and early relations between colonists and Native Americans, and London’s early economic history. Coverage dates: 1590-1790.
Vogue ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. Coverage dates: 1892 - Current.
Washington PostAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search for full text articles from current editions of this newspaper. Coverage dates: 1977 - Current.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900, is a subject bibliography of 50,000 publications intending to include every periodical and newspaper published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every language, within England during the time period. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Who's Who with Who Was Who OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Who's Who is the leading source of up-to-date information about over 34,000 influential people from all walks of life, worldwide. Who Was Who collects together the entries of nearly 100,000 people, now deceased. Provides fascinating insights into the private lives of public figures with detailed information for each person. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1849 - Current.
Women and Social Movements in the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents and 145,000 pages of full-text documents. It also includes a digital archive of 90,000 pages of publications of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women and an edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary Notable American Women. Coverage dates: 1600 - 2000.
World News DigestAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Compiles seven decades of international news. Search by topic, decade, country, or by Facts and Statistics. Covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. Coverage dates: 1940 - Current.
World Newspaper Archive - South Asia Newspapers, 1864-1922Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922 provides online access to ten newspapers published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in the 19th and early 20th century. It covers the aftermath of the Indian Rebellion; construction of railroads; effects of British Colonial rule; Hindu-Muslim conflicts; life on coffee, tea and rubber plantations; Morely-Minto Reforms; formation of the Indian National Congress; start of Mahatma Gandhi's independence movement, and more. Coverage dates: 1864-1922.
WorldCatAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Millions of bibliographic records in 400 languages and different formats such as books, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, articles, chapters and papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings and videotapes are included. Coverage dates: Before 1000 BC - Current.
Return to top