Databases by Subject/Topic: Journalism

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Journalism

Lexis Nexis AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides news articles for financial, medical, and legal information. Transcripts and wire services are also available. Other special features include: Company Profiles, SEC filings, Biographies, Country Information, Federal and State Cases, Patents, Broadcast Transcripts, and more. Coverage dates: Varies.
Access World NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains more recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: Early 20th century - Current.
Communication SourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for Communication Studies. Coverage dates: 1920s to Current.

Business Librarian

Diana Boerner

d.boerner@tcu.edu
817.257.5336

More databases for Journalism

AP ImagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A keyword searchable archive of photos, graphics, text, and audio from the Associated Press. Coverage dates: 1840 - Current.
Biography in ContextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Gale Biography in Context includes biographical material from authoritative reference works, full-text newspapers, journals, and video and audio clips from NBC and NPR
ComAbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the professional literature of the Communication(s) field. Subjects include mass communication, human interaction, rhetoric, health communication, new media, journalism and communication history. Coverage dates: Varies.
ComAnalyticsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides data and metrics about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication (journalism, mass communication, speech, communication studies, media studies, rhetoric, etc.). Coverage dates: 1915 - Current.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains full-text for congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, and history. Coverage dates: 1789 - Current.
CQ ResearcherAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
In-depth analysis about current and controversial issues, including viewpoints from different sides of each issue.
Current BiographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes full-text profiles of artists, politicians, business people, journalists, actors, authors, sports figures, scientists, and people in the news. Also includes obituaries with photographs. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: 1940 - Current.
Ethnic NewsWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic Newswatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage dates: 1959 to Current.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Expanded Academic ASAPAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary database with thousand of titles and many of them include full text. Many of the journals are refereed. Use this database for researching all the academic disciplines -- from science and technology to history and humanities. Coverage dates: 1980 - Current.
Government Periodicals Index (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Index of periodicals produced by various government agencies. Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
International Encyclopedia of Communication OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for communication studies. Coverage dates: Current.
iPollAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Find statistics from poll questions that have been asked in the US since 1935. All of the major polling organizations in the US are included. Coverage dates: 1935 - Current.
MLA Directory of PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the database. Entries include the following information: editorial addresses, phone numbers, e-mail addresses, publication frequency, periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, submission guidelines, statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, and how many are submitted.
Nation Archive Premium EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent American weekly magazine. Coverage dates: 1865 - present.
OmniFile Full Text SelectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
OmniFile Full Text Select provides access to the full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications, many of them peer-reviewed, from a number of disciplines. Coverage dates: 1994 - Current.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A collection of full text articles about current issues and events. Each topic is presented with points of view (pros and cons) from each side of the issue. Coverage dates: Varies.
Paley Center SeminarsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Paley Center Seminars is an online video archive of the acclaimed seminar series held by The Paley Center for Media in New York and Los Angeles. The seminars feature the leading names in media discussing the creative process, contemporary issues in production, and the impact of the media on society. Coverage dates: Current.
ProQuest Statistical InsightAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains Statistical data from government and international organizations. Includes statistics for popular topics such as human trafficking, identity theft, housing prices, and more. Coverage dates: 1973 - Current.
Rock's BackpagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
RBP is the World’s only comprehensive online archive of music journalism and writing, providing access to an ever-expanding collection of primary-source, full-text music writing (currently over 32,000 articles), sourced from the pages of the music and mainstream press. Not just a resource for music courses, but also journalism, literature, national and international cultural studies, gender studies, sociology, politics and economics. RBP contains articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the '50s up to present day and includes a growing collection of exclusive audio interviews. The content represents the work of over 670 of the best music writers on the planet from over 4,500 publications (Rolling Stone, NME etc etc), representing over 2,500 artists from all genres of music. Coverage dates: 1950 to present.
Serials DirectoryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to the most up-to-date and accurate bibliographic information, as well as current pricing structures, email and internet addresses for popular U.S. and international serials and newspapers. Coverage dates: Current.
SpringerLinkAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SpringerLink contains the full text of journals, eBooks, and conference proceedings published by Springer. Coverage dates: 1996 - Current.
TCU Daily SkiffAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes these TCU publications: The Skiff, Image, TCU Magazine and TCU This Week. (The Skiff portion covers issues from 1993 to current.) Coverage dates: 1993 - Current.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
U.S. Government publications including Congressional reports, documents, executive agency reports, departmental reports, and legislative reports, all published under the directive of Congress. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from Dr. Paul Boller. Coverage dates: 1789 - 1969; 2004 - Current.
Return to top