Databases by Subject/Topic: Nursing

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Nursing

Medline CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete searches citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals and full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. Coverage dates: 1865 to present.
CINAHL CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for thousands of journals. CINAHL provides research materials including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. Coverage dates: 1937 - Current.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for thousands of leading nursing titles, with hundreds of titles in full text. It provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine. Coverage dates: 1986 - Current.

Nursing & Nurse Anesthesia Librarian

Alysha Sapp

alysha.sapp@tcu.edu
817.257.5348

office: Reference office (Map)

More databases for Nursing

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
AccessScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Based on the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. It includes articles, definitions, images, biographies, and some multimedia. Coverage dates: Current.
AMA Manual of Style OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The online AMA Manual of Style has a streamlined interface, intuitive search and browse, and personalization features, so finding what you need in the Manual is easier than ever. Coverage dates: Current.
American Doctoral DissertationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. Coverage dates: 1902 to present.
Anatomy Flashcard Learning SystemAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Online anatomy study guide that helps students learn and assess their anatomy knowledge with a complete human anatomy flashcard deck, learning tables and testing exercises. Coverage dates: Current.
ClinicalKeyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ClinicalKey gives access to all of Elsevier's current medical and surgical content, including First Consult. ClinicalKey’s content includes thousands of textbooks and top medical journals, providing the most current clinically relevant evidence-based answers, as well as expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. Coverage dates: Current.
Cochrane Clinical AnswersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. Designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care, each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to ‘drill down’ to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics. Coverage dates: Varies.
Cochrane LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases and it is an authoritative full-text source of evidence over health care. It includes systematic reviews, clinical trials, research studies, clinical answers, and more. Coverage dates: Varies.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global searches millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, and has over one million dissertations in full text. Coverage dates: 1743 - Current.
DynaMed PlusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
DynaMed is a clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available. Coverage dates: Current.
EMBASE and EMBASE ClassicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
EMBASE is a Major International Biomedical and Pharmaceutical database that contains over 19 million indexed records from 1974 to date, and has an overlap of titles with MEDLINE; EMBASE has been referred to as the European MEDLINE.  The database offers its own life science thesaurus called EMTREE.  Coverage dates: 1947 - Current.
ERICAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains articles and reports regarding all aspects of education. Coverage dates: 1966 - Current.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Global HealthAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Global Health is the only specialized bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health. The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
Health Reference Center-AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Integrated collection of medical and professional periodicals, reference books, health magazines and hundreds of health-related multimedia. Coverage dates: 1980 - Current.
Health Source: Nursing/AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Coverage dates: 1963 - Current.
Joanna Briggs InstituteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information. This database provides exclusive access to the following JBI resources: Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, and more. Coverage dates: 1948 - Current.
Merck Index OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Merck Index Online searches chemical information for thousands of substances and reactions. Merck Index focuses on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Coverage dates: 1890s - present.
MicromedexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An evidence-based resource used by clinicians to inform and educate care decisions with the goal to meaningfully improve patient outcomes. It is a comprehensive drug-based resource also spanning diseases, acute care, toxicology, alternative medicines and patient education materials.
Nursing Academic EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nursing Academic Edition provides full text and abstracting for hundreds of publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. Nursing and allied health coverage is strong. This database also includes Clinical Pharmacology with coverage of U.S. prescription drugs as well as information on herbal and nutritional supplements and over-the-counter products. Coverage dates: 1975 - Current.
Nursing and Allied Health CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection includes all aspects of the Nursing profession. Including hundreds of titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Coverage dates: 1980 to present.
Nursing Education in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nursing Education in Video is an online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. The videos in this collection have been created by Medcom-Trainex. Coverage dates: Current.
Nursing Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nursing Reference Center offers staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases, patient education, and drug & reference information from top publishers. Coverage dates: Current.
Ovid, Nursing@OvidAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Nursing @ Ovid is a comprehensive, integrated nursing and allied health portal for information about practice, education, research, and administration. The databases core service is comprised of three components: Proprietary Nursing Subject Thesaurus, Ovid’s new Controlled Vocabulary, and an associated Lexicon which meets the needs of nurses. Coverage dates: 1948 - Current.
Pediatric Nutrition Care ManualAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Nutrition Care Manuals are therapeutic diet manuals and professional practice manuals for registered dietitians; dietetic technicians, registered; and allied health professionals. This particular manual is the Pediatric Nutrition Care Manuals, for pediatric populations and their caregivers. Limited to 5 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
PsychiatryOnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
PsychiatryOnline contains institutional subscriptions from American Psychiatric Publishing. These include the DSM, The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Psychiatric News, and other psychiatric journals and textbooks. Coverage dates: 1844 to present.
PsycINFOAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations, from international sources in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage dates: 1887 - Current.
PubMedAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
SAGE Resarch Methods DatasetsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. These datasets are indexed by method and data type. Through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made.
Sage Research MethodsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Sage Research Methods CasesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Sage Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
SAGE Research Methods VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
ScienceDirectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ScienceDirect provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in a wide range of subject areas including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
SocINDEX with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - Current.
Stat!RefAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Stat!Ref is a searchable medical information database for healthcare professionals. Here you can cross-reference and search the latest clinical information from more than 50 medical texts. Find answers quickly about diagnosis, treatments, drug interactions and uses, and patient referrals. Coverage dates: Varies.
TripAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care; it also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Web of ScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Web of Science offers the ability to search many databases simultaneously, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and several others. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
Wiley Online LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: Varies.
Return to top