Databases by Subject/Topic: Nutritional Sciences

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Nutritional Sciences

Global HealthAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Global Health is the only specialized bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health. The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
PubMedAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Nutrition Care ManualAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Therapeutic diet manuals and professional practice manuals for registered dietitians, dietetic technicians, registered and allied health professionals. Contains Nutrition Care Manuals for adult (18+) populations, Pediatric Nutrition Care Manuals for pediatric populations and their caregivers, and Sports Nutrition Care Manuals for sports and performance. Limited to 5 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.

Health Sciences Liaison & Assessment Librarian

Bogi Huddleston

b.huddleston@tcu.edu
817.257.6063

More databases for Nutritional Sciences

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
AccessScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Based on the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. It includes articles, definitions, images, biographies, and some multimedia. Coverage dates: Current.
AGRICOLAAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides citations and indexes to agricultural information, including animal sciences, plant sciences, aquaculture, forestry, and more. Indexes National Agricultural Library information. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Alt HealthWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness; provides full-text and abstracting for the latest information in holistic medicine and therapies, including acupuncture, body work, chiropractic, herbalism and many more subjects. Coverage dates: 1990 - Current.
AMA Manual of Style OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The online AMA Manual of Style has a streamlined interface, intuitive search and browse, and personalization features, so finding what you need in the Manual is easier than ever. Coverage dates: Current.
CINAHL CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for thousands of journals. CINAHL provides research materials including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. Coverage dates: 1937 - Current.
ClinicalKeyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ClinicalKey gives access to all of Elsevier's current medical and surgical content, including First Consult. ClinicalKey’s content includes thousands of textbooks and top medical journals, providing the most current clinically relevant evidence-based answers, as well as expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. Coverage dates: Current.
Conference Proceedings Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search for conference presentations of leading edge research in the sciences and social science. Cross-disciplinary and focused on the most significant and credible professional and scholarly conferences. Sometimes referred to as grey literature. Coverage dates: 1990-present.
DynaMed PlusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
DynaMed is a clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available. Coverage dates: Current.
EMBASE and EMBASE ClassicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
EMBASE is a Major International Biomedical and Pharmaceutical database that contains over 19 million indexed records from 1974 to date, and has an overlap of titles with MEDLINE; EMBASE has been referred to as the European MEDLINE.  The database offers its own life science thesaurus called EMTREE.  Coverage dates: 1947 - Current.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Food Science and Technology AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This extensive specialized database covers scientific and technological literature relating to food, drink and nutrition. It is managed by a team of expert scientists within IFIS, a not-for-profit organization with an ongoing commitment to learning and development and a reputation for scientific integrity, accuracy and excellence. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: 1969 to Current.
Gale Science in ContextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
This resource provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Coverage dates: Current.
Global CommoditiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
One of the most popular ways of teaching World History is through the story of Global Commodities and the way in which these transformed the world. This project focuses on fifteen significant commodities whose stories are often intertwined. Coverage dates: 18th-20th Century.
Health Policy Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A comprehensive database covering all aspects of health policy. With full-text for more than 300 industry-leading journals, it supports decision-making, planning and research in a variety of healthcare system areas. Coverage dates: Varies.
Health Reference Center-AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Integrated collection of medical and professional periodicals, reference books, health magazines and hundreds of health-related multimedia. Coverage dates: 1980 - Current.
Health Source: Consumer EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full-text access to a rich collection of consumer health information through popular health magazines, current health-related pamphlets and reference books. Covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, food sciences, sports medicine, women's health, and more. Additionally, contains Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Coverage dates: 1975 - Current.
Health Source: Nursing/AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Coverage dates: 1963 - Current.
MEDLINEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
MEDLINE is the premier medical database created the by U.S. National Library of Medicine. It searches millions of references from thousands of journals and other sources in biomedicine and health. It covers such areas as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
Medline CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete searches citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals and full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. Coverage dates: 1865 to present.
Nature Journals OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nature Journals contains unlimited access to all journals on the Nature platform, including its flagship journal Nature and the Scientific American magazine. Coverage dates: 1845-present.
Pediatric Nutrition Care ManualAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Nutrition Care Manuals are therapeutic diet manuals and professional practice manuals for registered dietitians; dietetic technicians, registered; and allied health professionals. This particular manual is the Pediatric Nutrition Care Manuals, for pediatric populations and their caregivers. Limited to 5 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
Sage PremierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Access full text and abstracts of journals in a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Coverage dates: 1999 - Current.
ScienceDirectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ScienceDirect provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in a wide range of subject areas including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
SciTech Premium CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Coverage dates: 1946 - Current.
ScopusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A comprehensive abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books & conference proceedings. It can also be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents and journals. Coverage dates: 1823 to present.
SPORTDiscus with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full text for 660+ journals indexed in SPORTDiscus as well as books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and magazine articles. Extensive coverage in the areas of fitness, health and sport studies. Subject include: sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, sports psychology, training, nutrition and coaching, and many more. Limited to 4 users at once. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current.
Sports Nutrition Care ManualAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains research-based nutrition information written by board certified specialists in Sports Dietetics. Features include printable client education handouts and meal plans, calculators for BMI and energy expenditure. Main topics: conditions, energy, equations, lifecycle, nutrition care for athletes, nutrition FAQs and diets for clients, and resources. Limited to 5 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
Web of ScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Web of Science offers the ability to search many databases simultaneously, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and several others. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
Wiley Online LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: Varies.
Return to top