Databases by Subject/Topic: Political & Military Science

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Political & Military Science

Political Science CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in political science. Coverage dates: 1911 - Current.
JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
Sage PremierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Access full text and abstracts of journals in a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Coverage dates: 1999 - Current.

Social Sciences Librarian

Robyn Reid

r.reid@tcu.edu
817.257.5337

office: Reference office (Map)

More databases for Political & Military Science

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Access NewspaperArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains historical newspaper articles. Coverage dates: 1759 - 2006.
Access World NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains more recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: Early 20th century - Current.
America: History and Life with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Secondary sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, covering American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
American Civil War Research DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains images and information about soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Coverage dates: 1861 - 1865.
American History in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming historical documentary films from PBS and the History Channel as well as original newsreels from 1929-1967. Coverage dates: 16th century - 1990s.
Brill Online Reference WorksAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Reference information on significant international and national organizations, comprehensive biographical profiles of almost 4,000 of the most important people in the world today. Publications focus on the humanities, social sciences and international law, and include The International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who and Who's Who in Public International Law Online. Coverage dates: Current.
Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Finding Aid for federal publications. Includes links to those publications available online. Coverage dates: 1976 - Current.
Congressional Hearings (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ProQuest Congressional hearings Part A provides full text to every published and unpublished Congressional hearing from 1824 through 1979. Coverage dates: 1824-1979.
Congressional Publications (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains full-text for congressional hearings, public issues, legislation, and history. Coverage dates: 1789 - Current.
Congressional Research Digital CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to congressional committee prints and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. Coverage dates: 1830 - Current.
CountryWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides geopolitical intelligence on countries: demographics, economic overviews, investment overviews, social overviews, environmental overviews, and political overviews. Daily news coverage, maps, and macroeconomic forecasts available.
CQ Almanac Online EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Original narritive accounts of major legislation considered by lawmakers during congressional sessions. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
CQ ResearcherAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
In-depth analysis about current and controversial issues, including viewpoints from different sides of each issue.
CQ WeeklyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers the status of current legislative issues including bills and amendments in Congress, committee and floor activity, as well as debates and roll-call votes. Coverage dates: 1983 - Current.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in Criminal Justice. Coverage dates: 1968 - Current.
Data.govAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Data-Planet Statistical DatasetsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to the largest repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 25 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. Coverage dates: Current.
Ethnic NewsWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic Newswatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage dates: 1959 to Current.
Europa WorldAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides political and economic information for countries. Includes maps, statistics, and directories to agencies. You can create tables of comparative country statistics. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: Current.
FDsysAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains these U.S. Government documents: Regulatory information (such as, Federal Register, Laws, etc.), Legislation (such as Congressional Records, Congressional Bills, etc.), Economic Indicators, Court Opinions, Constitutional analysis, and more. Coverage dates: 1994 - Current.
Global Road WarriorAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides Cultural, Communications, Travel, and Business information for over 170 Countries and Territories. Coverage dates: Current.
Government Periodicals Index (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Index of periodicals produced by various government agencies. Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
Handbook of TexasAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association and University of Texas at Austin. Coverage dates: 1999.
HathiTrustAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world. Coverage dates: Varies.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Statistical data representing United States history. Coverage dates: 1790 - 2000.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Data archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 to Current.
iPollAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Find statistics from poll questions that have been asked in the US since 1935. All of the major polling organizations in the US are included. Coverage dates: 1935 - Current.
Legal CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full text for legal information. Case studies, law journals, and analysis are available. Subjects include: criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
Lexis Nexis AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides news articles for financial, medical, and legal information. Transcripts and wire services are also available. Other special features include: Company Profiles, SEC filings, Biographies, Country Information, Federal and State Cases, Patents, Broadcast Transcripts, and more. Coverage dates: Varies.
Military & Government CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in military science. Coverage dates: Varies.
Military and Intelligence DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Current news and articles for topics in military science. Coverage dates: 1980 - Current.
Nation Archive Premium EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent American weekly magazine. Coverage dates: 1865 - present.
National Review ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent American magazine. Coverage dates: 1955 - present.
New Republic ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Magazine providing an in-depth look at American politics, foreign policy, and culture. Coverage dates: 1914 - present.
Newsbank NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Search more than 200 local, regional, national, and international newspapers and news magazines. Coverage dates: Varies.
Opinion ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides abstracts to the archives of America's oldest political, cultural and religious magazines. These journals represent the spectrum of opinion from progressive to conservative, Catholic, Jewish, Latin American, environmental as well as international coverage. Coverage dates: 1850 - Current.
Passport Global Market Information Database (GMID)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides research reports, analyst reports, and articles for international company, industry, marketing, consumer, country, and economic information. Coverage dates: Current.
ProCitizenAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An online course to prepare new Americans for the civics, reading, and writing parts of the USCIS Naturalization Test. Includes 100 instructional videos in both English and Spanish.
ProQuest Statistical InsightAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains Statistical data from government and international organizations. Includes statistics for popular topics such as human trafficking, identity theft, housing prices, and more. Coverage dates: 1973 - Current.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s. Coverage dates: 1890-1982.
SAGE Resarch Methods DatasetsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. These datasets are indexed by method and data type. Through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made.
Sage Research MethodsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Sage Research Methods CasesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Sage Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
SAGE Research Methods VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice contains both primary source documents and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Coverage dates: 1490-2007.
Social Sciences Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of social sciences; full bibliographic and cited reference data. Disciplines include: communication, education, geography, history of social sciences, law, political science, public health, social issues, sociology. Coverage dates: 1956 - Current.
StratforAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Access nonpartisan, international news, intelligence reports, analysis, and more. Topics include economics and finance, energy, military, politics, terrorism/security, and more. Videos, maps, and articles available. Coverage dates: Current.
Texas Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for Texas history and culture, including biographical information. Coverage dates: Current.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
U.S. Government publications including Congressional reports, documents, executive agency reports, departmental reports, and legislative reports, all published under the directive of Congress. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from Dr. Paul Boller. Coverage dates: 1789 - 1969; 2004 - Current.
Wiley Online LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: Varies.
World Development IndicatorsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides current and historical Economic data from the World Bank for over 207 Countries. Topics include: Economics, Environment, Finance, Social Indicators, and Trade. Coverage dates: 1960 - 2000.
World News DigestAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Compiles seven decades of international news. Search by topic, decade, country, or by Facts and Statistics. Covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940. Coverage dates: 1940 - Current.
Return to top