Databases by Subject/Topic: Social Work

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Social Work

SocINDEX with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - Current.
Social Work AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides indexing and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field: theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems. Subjects include therapy, education, human services, addictions, child and family welfare, mental health, civil and legal rights, and more. Limited to 4 users at once. Coverage dates: 1968 - Current.
Family & Society Studies WorldwideAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, (FSWW) provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources. FSSW provides access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage dates: 1970 to present.

Health Sciences Liaison & Assessment Librarian

Bogi Huddleston

b.huddleston@tcu.edu
817.257.6063

More databases for Social Work

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Census 2010Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Contains census data from the 2010 Decennial Census of the United States Coverage dates: 2010.
CINAHL CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for thousands of journals. CINAHL provides research materials including health care books, select conference proceedings, evidence-based care sheet and quick lesson disease overviews. Coverage dates: 1937 - Current.
ClinicalKeyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ClinicalKey gives access to all of Elsevier's current medical and surgical content, including First Consult. ClinicalKey’s content includes thousands of textbooks and top medical journals, providing the most current clinically relevant evidence-based answers, as well as expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals. Coverage dates: Current.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference WorksAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works contains real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. The database contains more than 2,000 session transcripts, 44,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material. Coverage dates: 1739-present.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume IIAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides a deep look into the client-therapist office, allowing readers to follow the progress and setbacks of clients over the course of multiple therapy sessions. This collection features a diverse set of clients, a wide range of presenting issues, and multiple therapeutic approaches. Because all content was recorded in 2012 or later, Volume II features contemporary issues and the most up-to-date therapeutic approaches to treat them. The collection is an outstanding resource for teaching and research and adheres to the American Psychological Association’s Ethics Guidelines for use and anonymity. Coverage dates: 2012 to Current.
Counseling and Therapy in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides a large and rich collection of videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology and psychiatric counseling. Study, observe, and experience a wide variety of different therapy and counseling methods and approaches as practiced by experts in their field.
DynaMed PlusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
DynaMed is a clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available. Coverage dates: Current.
EMBASE and EMBASE ClassicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
EMBASE is a Major International Biomedical and Pharmaceutical database that contains over 19 million indexed records from 1974 to date, and has an overlap of titles with MEDLINE; EMBASE has been referred to as the European MEDLINE.  The database offers its own life science thesaurus called EMTREE.  Coverage dates: 1947 - Current.
ERICAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains articles and reports regarding all aspects of education. Coverage dates: 1966 - Current.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Gale Legal FormsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains thousands of legal forms available with more forms being added daily. Official, State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues. Warning: Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters. Forms include forms drafted by attorneys for a particular legal matter, forms from public records and participating companies and attorneys. "Official" forms for many states are also included. Coverage dates: Current.
Gale Science in ContextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
This resource provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Coverage dates: Current.
Global HealthAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Global Health is the only specialized bibliographic, abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health. The database covers all aspects of public health at both international and community levels, as well as a wealth of material from other biomedical and life science fields. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
Health Policy Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A comprehensive database covering all aspects of health policy. With full-text for more than 300 industry-leading journals, it supports decision-making, planning and research in a variety of healthcare system areas. Coverage dates: Varies.
Health Reference Center-AcademicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to full-text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. Integrated collection of medical and professional periodicals, reference books, health magazines and hundreds of health-related multimedia. Coverage dates: 1980 - Current.
Health Source: Consumer EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full-text access to a rich collection of consumer health information through popular health magazines, current health-related pamphlets and reference books. Covers topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs and alcohol, food sciences, sports medicine, women's health, and more. Additionally, contains Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary. Coverage dates: 1975 - Current.
HeinOnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable PDF image-based, government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and more than 2,300 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. Coverage dates: Late 18th century to present.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Legal Information Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, plus thousands of forms from Texas and other states to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. Coverage dates: 2000 to Current.
MEDLINEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
MEDLINE is the premier medical database created the by U.S. National Library of Medicine. It searches millions of references from thousands of journals and other sources in biomedicine and health. It covers such areas as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A comprehensive guide to over 3,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information for evaluation of test products within areas as psychology, education, business and leadership. Tests in Print serves as a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: 1938 - Current.
Nursing and Allied Health CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nursing & Allied Health Collection includes all aspects of the Nursing profession. Including hundreds of titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum. Coverage dates: 1980 to present.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Coverage dates: Varies.
PILOTS: Published International Literature On Traumatic StressAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An index to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other mental health issues as consequences of exposure to traumatic events. Includes all publications relevant to PTSD regardless of their disciplinary, linguistic or geographic origin. Coverage dates: 1871 to Current.
PsycBOOKSAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
PsycBOOKS is the most current and only comprehensive collection of full-text APA-published scholarly and professional books. This extensive collection of current and classic peer-reviewed books provides a pathway through the evolution of psychological thought. Coverage dates: 1644 to present.
PsychiatryOnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
PsychiatryOnline contains institutional subscriptions from American Psychiatric Publishing. These include the DSM, The American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Psychiatric News, and other psychiatric journals and textbooks. Coverage dates: 1844 to present.
PsycINFOAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations, from international sources in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage dates: 1887 - Current.
PsycTESTSAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This database is a full-text repository of psychological tests and measures, as well as a source of structured information about tests of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields. Each record includes data on the scope of the test, test implementation, a high-level overview of the test’s development, and reliability and validity data. Coverage dates: 1910 to present.
Sage PremierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Access full text and abstracts of journals in a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Coverage dates: 1999 - Current.
SAGE Resarch Methods DatasetsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that give students a chance to learn data analysis by practicing themselves. These datasets are indexed by method and data type. Through practicing analysis using real data from SAGE Research Methods Datasets, students can see how analytic decisions are made.
Sage Research MethodsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Sage Research Methods CasesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Sage Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research that faculty can use in their teaching. Cases are original, specially commissioned, and designed to help students understand often abstract methodological concepts by introducing them to case studies of real research projects.
SAGE Research Methods VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SAGE Research Methods Video contains more than 125 hours of video, including tutorials, case study videos, expert interviews, and more, covering the entire research methods and statistics curriculum. The videos can help to bring methods to life: instead of reading about how to conduct a focus group, students can watch one in action. Through these videos, 60% of which are exclusive to SAGE, students can find extra help and support to guide them through every step of their research project and succeed in their research methods course.
ScienceDirectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ScienceDirect provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in a wide range of subject areas including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice contains both primary source documents and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Coverage dates: 1490-2007.
Social Services AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Coverage dates: 1979 - Current.
Social Work Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
An evidence-based resource for social workers and mental healthcare professionals. Includes care sheets, patient information and images usable in all clinical settings - including hospitals, elder-care centers, and mental healthcare facilities. Content includes adolescent health, aging, end-of-life care, clinical social work, and diversity and equality. Coverage dates: Current.
Sociological AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Indexes international scholarly literature in sociology and includes companion file Social Services Abstracts. Coverage dates: 1952 - Current.
Web of ScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Web of Science offers the ability to search many databases simultaneously, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and several others. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
Wiley Online LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: Varies.
Return to top