Databases by Subject/Topic: Women and Gender Studies

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Women and Gender Studies

JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
GenderWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
GenderWatch contains full text publications that focus on the historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles. The database contains academic literature as well as gray and popular literature. GenderWatch supports gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies, family studies, gender studies, and women's studies. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Contemporary Women's IssuesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Focuses on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries. Use it to search for women's concerns such as domestic violence, employment and education, family, reproductive health and human rights. Coverage dates: 1992 - Current.

Humanities and Theatre Research Librarian

Ammie E. Harrison

a.harrison@tcu.edu
817.257.5338

office: Reference (Map)


Appointments are wonderful,
Drop-ins are great,
If you got a question,
Don't hesitate!!!

More databases for Women and Gender Studies

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for African American Studies. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1619 - Current.
America: History and Life with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Secondary sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, covering American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
Berg Fashion LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Useful to scholars, students, professionals, and anyone interested in dress, it includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources and more. Coverage dates: From early times to present day.
British and Irish Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Coverage dates: 1500 - 1950.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean. Covers Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures, and daily life. It features more than 140 newspapers. Most of these newspapers were published in the English, but a number are in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, CuraƧao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region, is included. Coverage dates: 1718-1876.
Communication SourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for Communication Studies. Coverage dates: 1920s to Current.
Defining GenderAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source documents that cover topics in gender studies and includes topics such as the family, education, and consumer culture. Coverage dates: 1450 - 1910.
Ethnic NewsWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic Newswatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage dates: 1959 to Current.
Everyday Life and Women in America 1800-1920Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This collection comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing 19th and early 20th century political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. The collection is especially rich in conduct of life and domestic management literature. Coverage dates: 1800-1920.
Expanded Academic ASAPAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary database with thousand of titles and many of them include full text. Many of the journals are refereed. Use this database for researching all the academic disciplines -- from science and technology to history and humanities. Coverage dates: 1980 - Current.
Family & Society Studies WorldwideAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide, (FSWW) provides coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues as well as meeting the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, statistical documents, theses & dissertations and other sources. FSSW provides access to more than 1.3 million records. Coverage dates: 1970 to present.
Family Studies AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. An excellent source for researchers interested in learning more about the many facets of this discipline. Coverage dates: 1979 to Current.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Humanities Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Humanities International IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social ResearchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Data archive from an international consortium of academic institutions and research organizations. Coverage dates: 1790 to Current.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic PeriodAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes the poetry of, and biographical and critical essays about, 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Coverage dates: 1768 - 1842.
North American Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women. Material has been indexed for more thorough searching. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests, and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. Includes biographies. Coverage dates: Colonial America - 1950.
Open Book PublishersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
A Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press, with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read for free online. Coverage dates: 2007-present.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest. Coverage dates: 1950-1975.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Project MUSE provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
PsycARTICLESAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology published by APA and affiliated journals. Covers general and specialized psychology; basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research; and includes all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each journal. Coverage dates: 1894 - Current.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A comprehensive database covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods; particularly strong coverage in child & adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling. Provides abstracts and full text of hundreds of peer-reviewed journals. Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
PsycINFOAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, PsycINFO contains citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports and dissertations, from international sources in psychology and related disciplines. Coverage dates: 1887 - Current.
Race Relations AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books and articles relevant to topics in race relations including ethnic studies, discrimination, and immigration. Coverage dates: 1975 to Current.
Slavery, Abolition and Social JusticeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice contains both primary source documents and secondary sources for research and teaching; including an interactive map, scholarly essays, tutorials, a visual sources gallery, chronology and bibliography. Coverage dates: 1490-2007.
Social Sciences Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of social sciences; full bibliographic and cited reference data. Disciplines include: communication, education, geography, history of social sciences, law, political science, public health, social issues, sociology. Coverage dates: 1956 - Current.
SocINDEX with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in anthropology, criminal justice, social work, and sociology. Coverage dates: 1895 - Current.
TOPICsearchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides research by topic for current events. Coverage dates: Current.
US Major DailiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day. Images are not included. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current day.
Women and Social Movements in the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents and 145,000 pages of full-text documents. It also includes a digital archive of 90,000 pages of publications of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women and an edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary Notable American Women. Coverage dates: 1600 - 2000.
Women Writers OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A project of the Brown University Women Writers Project, a long-term research project devoted to digitizing works of early modern women, the database includes approximately 350 writings by women in English (1400-1850). Texts are transcribed in full, including front and back matter. Coverage dates: 1400 - 1850.
Return to top