Databases by Subject/Topic: Music

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z ALL 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff only. Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Available to faculty, staff, and grad students only. Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Available to Brite students/faculty/staff only. Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Available to Clark Society members. Available to Clark Society members.
  • Available to all patrons. Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Music

Oxford Music OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Authoritative encyclopedia reference for biographies, bibliography, and works. It includes all types of music styles, terms, genres and concepts. Contains full text of all New Grove genre encyclopedias including Jazz, Opera, American and Instruments. Limited to 5 users at once. Coverage dates: Varies.
Music Periodicals DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Full text and abstracts for articles from over 400 international music journals. Coverage dates: 1874 - Current.
Music OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A comprehensive interface that cross searches all 11 of the Alexander Street Press music related databases including Classical Music Online, Classical Reference Online, Jazz Online and American Song. Coverage dates: Ancient times - Current.

Music/Media Librarian

Cari Alexander

c.alexander2@tcu.edu
817.257.7667

office: Music/Media Library (Map)

More databases for Music

Academic Search CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 9000+ journals and includes the full text of 5500+ journals. 4000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Access World NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains more recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: Early 20th century - Current.
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for African American Studies. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1619 - Current.
Ambrose Video 2.0Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides a wide range of multidisciplinary streaming video content. Subjects include science, fine arts, literature, religion, minority studies, U.S. history and world history. Instructor guides, quizzes and timelines are available for some programs. Closed captions are searchable. Public performance rights are included.
American Doctoral DissertationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed. Coverage dates: 1902 to present.
AP ImagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A keyword searchable archive of photos, graphics, text, and audio from the Associated Press. Coverage dates: 1840 - Current.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides indexing of periodicals, essay collections, church documents, papal documents and electronic resources expressly addressing the practice and intellectual tradition of Roman Catholicism. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index with Full Text LinksAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books, periodicals, government documents, and newspaper articles published in the 19th century. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from the Friends of the TCU Library. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Finding Aid for federal publications. Includes links to those publications available online. Coverage dates: 1976 - Current.
Chicago Manual of StyleAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Chicago Manual of Style Online allows you to search or browse the full text of the latest edition. Tools, such as sample forms, proofreader's marks, letters, and style sheets are also provided. Limited to 25 users at once. Coverage dates: Current.
Christian Periodical IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The Christian Periodical Index indexes over 100 selected publications representative of the major doctrinal positions within evangelical Christianity. Subjects include theology, science, literature, medicine, music, philosophy, history, sociology, nursing, and education. Limited to 4 users at once. Coverage dates: 1956 - Current.
CMM - Corpus Mensurabilis MusicaeAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Index to all volumes in the Corpus Mensurabilis Musicae score series of the American Institute of Musicology. Covers Medieval, Renaissance and Early Baroque. Composer biographies are included.
Dance Collection CatalogAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
The NYPL Dance Collection catalog contains descriptions of materials on all forms of dance, and serves as an index to international dance periodicals. To search Dance holdings, select Dance Research Collection. To read about the Dance collections or access online materials go to the Jerome Robbins Dance Division web page. Coverage dates: 1974 - Current.
Dance Online: Dance in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Dance in Video highlights many forms and styles of dance through hundreds of performance, documentary, interview and instructional videos. Up-and-coming as well as leading companies and individuals are featured. Linking, embedding and playlists are possible. Transcripts are available for many videos. Coverage dates: 20th century.
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Anthology collection of American music in streaming audio including: classical, folk, opera, jazz, country, early rhythm and blues, musical theater, experimental, electronic, early rock and Native American music.
Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global searches millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, and has over one million dissertations in full text. Coverage dates: 1743 - Current.
Dissertations and Theses @Texas Christian UniversityAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Dissertations and Theses @Texas Christian University contains the full text of dissertations and theses produced by TCU students from 1996-present. Coverage dates: 1996 - Current.
Drama OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Drama Online provides contextual and critical background for theatre through scholarly works and practical guides. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys, and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods, and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts and acting and backstage guides. Also includes monologues and plays. Coverage dates: Ancient times to Current.
Early American ImprintsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631-1819.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains searchable digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and thousands of American works. Coverage dates: 1701 - 1800.
EIO-Italianistica / EIO-Italian StudiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Italianistica is a portal to current writings in Italian Studies, including literature, languages, music, art, architecture, social sciences, and history. Coverage dates: 1975 - Current.
ERICAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains articles and reports regarding all aspects of education. Coverage dates: 1966 - Current.
Ethnic NewsWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic Newswatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage dates: 1959 to Current.
EVIA Digital Archive ProjectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A digital archive of ethnographic field videos.
Family Studies AbstractsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. An excellent source for researchers interested in learning more about the many facets of this discipline. Coverage dates: 1979 to Current.
Filmakers Library OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Filmakers Library Online provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum--race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
Films On DemandAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
FoD is a growing repository of on-demand video for multiple subject disciplines. Content is from sources such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, History Channel, National Geographic, TED and television networks such as BBC and CBC. Embedding or linking to videos is possible and transcripts are available.
Guardian and The ObserverAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1791-2003.
Handbook of Latin American StudiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to all patrons.
An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various topics in the humanities and social sciences, Handbook of Latin American studies have academic scholars choose choose over 5,000 works to be included in the bibliography. Coverage dates: 1936 - Current.
Handbook of TexasAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association and University of Texas at Austin. Coverage dates: 1999.
Humanities Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Humanities International IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
Index to Jewish PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index to Jewish Periodicals indexes contemporary Jewish history, activity and thought and Middle Eastern affairs from more than 160 journals. Coverage dates: 1988 - Current.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
IBTD is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and dance, containing hundreds of full-text journals, books and monographs. Citations are available in a variety of styles and direct links to journal issues, articles, books and book chapters are furnished. Coverage dates: 1929 - Current.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (Second Edition)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. It comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Comprehensive documentation of the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. Coverage dates: 1600-1850.
IPA SourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Coverage dates: Varies.
JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
KanopyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Kanopy, a new multidisciplinary educational video database, is now branching into popular, Hollywood and foreign film as well. Performance rights are included with videos in this database. Clips, playlists and embedding are possible. Links are available from "Share/embed" within each video record. Coverage dates: 1890s to present.
Mango LanguagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Mango is an online language learning system. Native English speakers can learn foreign languages including French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), Pashto and Urdu. Mango also has 15 ESL language courses for non-native English speakers, including Spanish, French, Polish, Russian, Cantonese, and Mandarin. It also includes movies. Coverage dates: Current.
Met Opera on Demand: Student AccessAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Streaming video or audio of full-length Metropolitan Opera performances including HD theater transmissions, classic telecasts and early radio broadcasts. Included English synopsis and subtitles. Coverage dates: 1936 - present.
Music IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Citations and some full text for articles on all genres of music, musicology, and music research from more than 800 music periodicals. Coverage dates: 1979 - Current.
Music Online: African American Music ReferenceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Chronicle of the history and culture of the African American music experience through reference, biography, sheet music, images, lyrics and other print genres. Comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights, slave, minstrelsy, R&B, gospel and other forms of black American musical expression. Coverage dates: 19th century - Current.
Music Online: American MusicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming audio covering music from Amerca's past including songs by and about Native Americans, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, cowboys, Civil Rights, politics, Prohibition, Revolutionary and Civil Wars, anti-war protests and more. Coverage dates: 18th century - Current.
Music Online: Classical Music in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming video of classical music containing approximately 1500 performances and masterclasses. Includes orchestral, chamber, oratorio and solo performances as well as masterclasses and interviews with world reknowned master teachers. Coverage dates: Renaissance - Current.
Music Online: Classical Music LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Large multi-label database of mostly classical music as well as jazz, film soundtrack, holiday and world genres. Includes instrumental and vocal music in solo and ensemble settings. Recordings supplemented by biographical information and links to reference resources (i.e. Grove Music Online). Users must complete a short registry to build playlists and embed external links.
Music Online: Classical Music Reference LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference text database spanning the entire history of Western classical music. Includes Baker's Dictionary, Biographical Dictionary, and Student Encyclopedia of Music, the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music and other basic music reference texts. Coverage dates: Medieval - 21st century.
Music Online: Classical Scores LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Classical scores from both in-copyright and public domain editions includes in-copyright material from Boosey and Hawkes and selected material from the University Music Editions microfilm series. Includes full, piano/vocal, study and piano reductions. Coverage dates: Renaissance - 21st century.
Music Online: Contemporary World MusicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming audio database incorporating contemporary reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, and other worldwide genres. Coverage dates: contemporary.
Music Online: Jazz Music LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A streaming audio database of great performances from all genres of jazz. Coverage dates: Early 20th century to Current.
Music Online: Opera in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming video of 250 opera performances as well as interviews and documentaries about opera. Selections represent the world's best in opera, chosen based on importance to the operatic canon. Coverage dates: Baroque - 20th century.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for LibrariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming audio database serving as a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.
Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference work devoted to ethnomusicology. Includes in depth text descriptions and images of instruments, performance, dance, and cultural practices. Coverage dates: Antiquity - Current.
Nation Archive Premium EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent American weekly magazine. Coverage dates: 1865 - present.
Naxos Music LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Streaming audio of the Naxos sound recording catalog and other labels. Genres include classical, jazz, folk, world and Chinese music. Notes on the works being played and biographical information is available. Playlists may be created.
New York TimesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current.
New York Times (Historical)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: 1851 - 4 years ago.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection covering the 19th century. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1900.
Oxford Bibliographies OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Coverage dates: Varies.
Oxford History of Western MusicAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference text giving a narrative account of the evolution of Western classical music.
Oxford Reference OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Brings together 100+ renowned dictionaries and reference works. Cross-searchable access to comprehensive coverage 20+ subject areas. Note: The TCU Library has purchased access to the Core Collection, the Premium Collection, and the Literature Collection. Limited to 5 users at once.
Paley Center SeminarsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Paley Center Seminars is an online video archive of the acclaimed seminar series held by The Paley Center for Media in New York and Los Angeles. The seminars feature the leading names in media discussing the creative process, contemporary issues in production, and the impact of the media on society. Coverage dates: Current.
Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Draws current content from more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. It covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry. Limited to 4 users at once. Coverage dates: 1864 - Current.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest. Coverage dates: 1950-1975.
Professional Development CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Project MUSE provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
PronunciatorAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A fun and easy way to learn to speak, read, and write any of 80 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more. Also features ESL for 50 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices.
Retrospective Index to Music PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes music periodical literature published from the late 18th- to mid-20th- centuries in Europe and the United States. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1950.
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteratureAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides citations and abstracts on international music from over 500 scholarly journals, as well as books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, dissertations, Festschriften, iconographies, liner notes. Coverage dates: 1967 - Current.
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Comprehensive documentation of the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: 1600 - 1850.
SingersBabelAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A suite of tools that allow singers to prepare and perform pieces in foreign languages. Access with Chrome, Firefox or Safari; it does not work with Internet Explorer. BabelGuides require Adobe Flash, so will not work with iOS devices.
Theatre in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Coverage dates: 1936 - 2005.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-onwardsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Offers every issue of The Times of London newspaper from 1785 to 2008 in a digital format. Coverage dates: 1785-six years before Current year.
Victorian DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers the Victorian age, 1830-1914. It lists editions, books, dissertations, and articles published in more than 500 journals in every field of 19th century British Studies. Journal coverage extends from 1945 to the present. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
Who's Who with Who Was Who OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Who's Who is the leading source of up-to-date information about over 34,000 influential people from all walks of life, worldwide. Who Was Who collects together the entries of nearly 100,000 people, now deceased. Provides fascinating insights into the private lives of public figures with detailed information for each person. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1849 - Current.
Women and Social Movements in the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes 102 document projects and archives with more than 4,050 documents and 145,000 pages of full-text documents. It also includes a digital archive of 90,000 pages of publications of federal, state, and local Commissions on the Status of Women and an edition of the five-volume biographical dictionary Notable American Women. Coverage dates: 1600 - 2000.
WorldCatAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Millions of bibliographic records in 400 languages and different formats such as books, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, articles, chapters and papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings and videotapes are included. Coverage dates: Before 1000 BC - Current.
Return to top