Databases by Subject/Topic: Spanish and Hispanic Studies

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Spanish and Hispanic Studies

JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
JSTOR is an electronic journal collection consisting of the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. It is especially strong in Arts and Sciences. It is possible to search the contents of all the JSTOR journals using this link. Coverage dates: Varies.
MLA International BibliographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. This electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage dates: 1926 - Current.
Literature Resource CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods, covering more than 111,250 novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists. Some of the types of information included are criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, Web sites, periodical articles, full-text author's works, and reading lists. Users can search by author and work. Coverage dates: Varies.

Humanities and Theatre Research Librarian

Ammie E. Harrison

a.harrison@tcu.edu
817.257.5338

office: Reference (Map)


Appointments are wonderful,
Drop-ins are great,
If you got a question,
Don't hesitate!!!

More databases for Spanish and Hispanic Studies

Anthropology PlusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers topics in Anthropology, Archaeology, Ethnography, and other topics related to Anthropology. Coverage dates: 19th century - Current.
AnthroSourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Archive of articles and news published by the American Anthropological Association. Coverage dates: Varies.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean. Covers Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures, and daily life. It features more than 140 newspapers. Most of these newspapers were published in the English, but a number are in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region, is included. Coverage dates: 1718-1876.
ClasePeriodicaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
CLASE is an index to materials published in Latin American and Caribbean journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIÓDICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. They offer access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in over 2,600 scholarly journals from 24 countries. Coverage dates: 1975 - Current.
Contemporary AuthorsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides biographical information, critical sources for further research and bibliographical details on over 120,000 modern U.S. and international authors. Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
Contemporary Literary Criticism SelectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical information, principal works, and critical sources for further research. Coverage dates: 1997 - Current.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The essays of the Dictionary of Literary Biography outline the lives and careers of nearly 10,000 authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Fuente Academica PremierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains scholarly articles written in Spanish for the following subjects: Agriculture, Biology, Economics, History, Literature, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Sociology, and more. Coverage dates: Varies.
Gale Artemis Literary SourcesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This interface allows you to search all of Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Material includes critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource. Coverage dates: Varies.
Handbook of Latin American StudiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to all patrons.
An annotated bibliography of works on Latin America covering various topics in the humanities and social sciences, Handbook of Latin American studies have academic scholars choose choose over 5,000 works to be included in the bibliography. Coverage dates: 1936 - Current.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains more than 500 key Latin American journal articles with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States dating back to 1970. It contains complete bibliographic citations and limited full text. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (HAN) represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Including many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English. As part of the America's Historical Newspapers, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 can be cross-searched with Early American Imprints. Coverage dates: 1808 - 1980.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Humanities Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Humanities International IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. Coverage dates: Classical to modern times.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations and citations to book reviews Coverage dates: 1973-Current.
Literature Criticism OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Literature Criticism Online includes six Thompson-Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, and Short Story Criticism. Volumes before 2007 are included, however, some early texts are not available online. These texts can be obtained in print from offsite storage. Coverage dates: 1400-Current.
OmniFile Full Text SelectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
OmniFile Full Text Select provides access to the full text of articles from approximately 2,700 publications, many of them peer-reviewed, from a number of disciplines. Coverage dates: 1994 - Current.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Project MUSE provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
PronunciatorAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A fun and easy way to learn to speak, read, and write any of 80 languages. Includes live tutors, feature films, music with lyrics, pronunciation analysis, quizzes, and more. Also features ESL for 50 non-English languages, plus free apps for Android, Apple, and Kindle Fire devices.
Sabin AmericanaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source documents relevant to the history of the Americas, including Central, North, and South America. Coverage dates: 1500-1926.
SciELO Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SciELO Citation Index searches hundreds of journal titles with regional emphases on Latin America, Spain, Portugal, and South Africa. Major subjects covered include the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Coverage dates: 1997 - Current.
Scribner WritersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Scribner Writers contains the full text for more than 1600 critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Entries include hyperlinks for cross-referencing, citation, and biographical information. Coverage dates: Varies.
Twayne's Authors SeriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Twayne's Authors Series contains the full text literary criticism about the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Content is from nearly 600 books from the following three print series – United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors Coverage dates: Varies.
Return to top