Databases by Subject/Topic: Modern Language Studies

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

New databases     Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Modern Language Studies

Humanities International IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Cross-disciplinary, scholarly electronic journal collection containing the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. Especially strong in Arts and Sciences. Coverage dates: Varies.
MLA International BibliographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. This electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage dates: 1926 - Current.

Humanities and Theatre Research Librarian

Ammie E. Harrison

a.harrison@tcu.edu
817.257.5338

office: Reference (Map)


Appointments are wonderful,
Drop-ins are great,
If you got a question,
Don't hesitate!!!

More databases for Modern Language Studies

Alexander Street VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
High quality academic films from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, and Sony Pictures Classics. Coverage dates: 1900s to present.
ARTFL ProjectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Consists of nearly 3,000 texts of French literature, ranging from classic works to non-fiction. The 18th to the 20th are represented, with a selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. The corpus is updated as new high-quality digital texts become available. Coverage dates: 17th-20th centuries.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
Bibliography of Asian StudiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes articles and book chapters on East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Primarily English language material, with other western languages included. Coverage dates: 1971 - Current.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers from the Caribbean. Covers Caribbean and Atlantic history, cultures, and daily life. It features more than 140 newspapers. Most of these newspapers were published in the English, but a number are in Spanish, French, and Danish. Countries represented: Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Cuba, Curaçao, Dominica, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Nevis, Puerto Rico, St. Bartholomew, St. Christopher, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Virgin Islands. Bermuda, an island not technically part of the Caribbean, but situated on shipping routes between Europe and this region, is included. Coverage dates: 1718-1876.
Chinese Newspaper CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Collection of 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers for a 120 year period. Coverage dates: 1832 - 1953.
Contemporary AuthorsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides biographical information, critical sources for further research and bibliographical details on over 120,000 modern U.S. and international authors. Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
Contemporary Literary Criticism SelectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical information, principal works, and critical sources for further research. Coverage dates: 1997 - Current.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The essays of the Dictionary of Literary Biography outline the lives and careers of nearly 10,000 authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Early European BooksAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The collected series of Early European Books brings online 200 years of remarkable insights into pre-18th century Europe. Coverage dates: 1450 - 1700.
Edmond Huguet, Dictionnaire de la langue française du 16e siècleAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Dictionary of the 16th century by Edmond Huguet constitutes the essential reference for Renaissance language. The dictionary offers almost all words of the Renaissance language. Huguet linked his work to Godefroy’s Dictionary of Old French Language and All Its Dialects and explored 15th and 17th century words to provide his lexicon with a historical perspective. This dictionary was also for spelling and translation, providing the orthographical forms used by a word throughout the ages. Coverage dates: 15th to 17th century.
ERIC - EBSCOAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provided by the U.S. Department of Education. Contains articles and reports regarding all aspects of education. Coverage dates: 1966 - Current.
Essay and General Literature IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Essay and General Literature Index cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Coverage dates: 1983 - present.
Ethnic NewsWatchAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Ethnic NewsWatch contains full-text newspapers, magazines, journals, and newsletters of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the other side of the story, ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage dates: 1959 to Current.
Gale Artemis Literary SourcesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This interface allows you to search all of Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Material includes critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource. Coverage dates: Varies.
Grand Corpus des litteratures francaise et francophone, du Moyen Age au 20e siècleAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This database has full text French and Francophone literature from the Middle Ages to the 20th century, including French-language literature of Black Africa, from origins to independence, and French-language literature of the Indian Ocean, from origins to independence. It has more than 14,000 texts by nearly 300 authors. Coverage dates: Middle Ages to 20th century.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Humanities Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Index IslamicusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
An international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. It covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literature. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906. Coverage dates: 1906 to present.
IterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
TCU subscribes to two Iter databases. Iter Bibliography is a bibliography comprised of secondary source material pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Iter Italicum is the most comprehensive finding list of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Coverage dates: 400 - 1700.
La Critique littéraire, Le XIXe siècle / Literary criticism, the 19th centuryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains works of literary criticism written by 19th Century French authors. Coverage dates: Varies.
Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations and citations to book reviews Coverage dates: 1973-Current.
Literature Criticism OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Literature Criticism Online includes six Thompson-Gale series: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, and Short Story Criticism. Volumes before 2007 are included, however, some early texts are not available online. These texts can be obtained in print from offsite storage. Coverage dates: 1400-Current.
Literature Resource CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods, covering more than 111,250 novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists. Some of the types of information included are criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, Web sites, periodical articles, full-text author's works, and reading lists. Users can search by author and work. Coverage dates: Varies.
Mango LanguagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Mango is an online language learning system. Native English speakers can learn foreign languages including French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), Pashto and Urdu. Mango also has 15 ESL language courses for non-native English speakers, including Spanish, French, Polish, Russian, Cantonese, and Mandarin. It also includes movies. Coverage dates: Current.
MLA Directory of PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides information on over 7,100 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the database. Entries include the following information: editorial addresses, phone numbers, e-mail addresses, publication frequency, periodicals' scopes, circulation figures, submission guidelines, statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, and how many are submitted.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Scribner WritersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Scribner Writers contains the full text for more than 1600 critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Entries include hyperlinks for cross-referencing, citation, and biographical information. Coverage dates: Varies.
TorrossaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Consists of EIO Italian Studies, comprising of 902 e-books and 68 e-journals, and CSIC E-journals, comprising 37 e-Journals. Full text articles and ebooks available in Italian, Spanish, French, and Portuguese. Coverage dates: Varies.
Twayne's Authors SeriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Twayne's Authors Series contains the full text literary criticism about the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Content is from nearly 600 books from the following three print series – United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors Coverage dates: Varies.
Return to top