Databases by Subject/Topic: Biology

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

New databases     Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Biology

Web of ScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Web of Science offers the ability to search many databases simultaneously, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and several others. Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
MEDLINEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
MEDLINE is the premier medical database created the by U.S. National Library of Medicine. It searches millions of references from thousands of journals and other sources in biomedicine and health. It covers such areas as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
ScopusAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A comprehensive abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books & conference proceedings. It can also be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents and journals. Coverage dates: 1823 to present.

Scholarly Communication Librarian and Science Research Liaison

Jeff Bond

j.bond@tcu.edu
817.257.7107

office: 2105

More databases for Biology

Academic Search UltimateAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 10,000+ journals and includes the full text of 6,500+ journals. 9000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
AccessScienceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Based on the McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. It includes articles, definitions, images, biographies, and some multimedia. Coverage dates: Current.
AGRICOLA - Ebsco through TexShareAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Serves as the catalog and index to the collections of the National Agricultural Library, as well as other agricultural information. Disciplines covered include food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth and environmental sciences and more. Coverage dates: 1970-Current.
Anatomy.TVAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy. PALMS included – Flash Card system that uses automated sequencing for memorization.
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Digitized biodiversity literature from the collections of natural history and botany libraries around the world. Includes significant amounts of older and public domain content. Coverage dates: 1484 - Current.
BioOneAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
BioOne is a searchable full text collection of over 150 high-impact bioscience research journals. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
BIOSIS Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
BIOSIS Citation Index searches thousands of journal titles in biology and the life sciences, and contains citation data for each item. It also searches conference proceedings, books, and book chapters. Coverage dates: 1926 - Current.
Birds of North AmericaAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides comprehensive life histories for each of the 700+ species of birds breeding in the USA (including Hawaii) and Canada.
Conference Proceedings Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Search for conference presentations of leading edge research in the sciences and social science. Cross-disciplinary and focused on the most significant and credible professional and scholarly conferences. Sometimes referred to as grey literature. Coverage dates: 1990-present.
Encyclopedia of Life SciencesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) consists of thousands of peer-reviewed articles in the life sciences. Updated monthly, ELS covers all major topic areas in the life sciences. Limited to 3 users at once.
Environment CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Full-text database focusing on agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy and related fields. More than 1,200 full-text journals, with indexing for an addition 800+ journals. Includes author profiles. Coverage dates: Varies.
Gale Science in ContextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
This resource provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. By integrating authoritative, curriculum-aligned reference content with headlines and videos, it draws students into the subject matter, showing how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues, from weather patterns to obesity. Coverage dates: Current.
GreenFILEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
GreenFILE searches thousands of articles in the area of environmental science. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Coverage dates: 1913 - Current.
Medline CompleteAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete searches citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals and full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE. Coverage dates: 1865 to present.
Nature Journals OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Nature Journals contains unlimited access to all journals on the Nature platform, including its flagship journal Nature and the Scientific American magazine. Coverage dates: 1845-present.
PALMS - Perceptual and Adaptive Learning ModulesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Electronic flash cards that quiz students using an automated sequencing procedure to assist in memorizing anatomy at the appropriate time.
Science & Technology CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Science & Technology Collection searches hundreds of journals in the science and technology fields, and includes full text for many journals. Subjects include astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, physics, archaeology and materials science. Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
ScienceDirectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
ScienceDirect provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in a wide range of subject areas including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
SciTech Premium CollectionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes the Natural Science Collection and the Technology Collection and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. Coverage dates: 1946 - Current.
SpringerLinkAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
SpringerLink contains the full text of journals, eBooks, and conference proceedings published by Springer. Coverage dates: 1996 - Current.
Wiley Online LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works. Coverage dates: Varies.
Zoological RecordAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Zoological Record searches journals and other publications in the area animal biology. It is considered the world's leading taxonomic reference. One unique feature is the ability to search by taxa. Coverage dates: 1864 - present.
Return to top