Databases by Subject/Topic: Theatre

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

New databases     Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Theatre

Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Draws current content from more than 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, and also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. It covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry. Limited to 4 users at once. Coverage dates: 1864 - Current.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
IBTD is the definitive research tool for the study of theatre and dance, containing hundreds of full-text journals, books and monographs. Citations are available in a variety of styles and direct links to journal issues, articles, books and book chapters are furnished. Coverage dates: 1929 - Current.
Literature Resource CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Includes information on literary figures from all time periods, covering more than 111,250 novelists, poets, essayists, and journalists. Some of the types of information included are criticism, biographies, bibliographies, work overviews, Web sites, periodical articles, full-text author's works, and reading lists. Users can search by author and work. Coverage dates: Varies.

Humanities and Theatre Research Librarian

Ammie E. Harrison

a.harrison@tcu.edu
817.257.5338

office: Reference (Map)


Appointments are wonderful,
Drop-ins are great,
If you got a question,
Don't hesitate!!!

More databases for Theatre

Academic Search UltimateAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 10,000+ journals and includes the full text of 6,500+ journals. 9000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Alexander Street VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
High quality academic films from BroadwayHD, Milestone Films, and Sony Pictures Classics. Coverage dates: 1900s to present.
America: History and Life with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Secondary sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, covering American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Arts & Humanities Citation IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
An index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It covers 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. It also indexes individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals. Coverage dates: 1981 - Current.
BBC Shakespeare PlaysAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Streaming videos of all 37 of Shakespeare's plays. These productions feature some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent. Coverage dates: Late 16th - early 17th century.
Berg Fashion LibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Useful to scholars, students, professionals, and anyone interested in dress, it includes the Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, an extensive E-Book collection, a vast image bank, extra reference resources and more. Coverage dates: From early times to present day.
Black Drama Third EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Full text plays written from the mid-1800s to present by playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Coverage dates: mid 1800s - present.
Contemporary AuthorsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides biographical information, critical sources for further research and bibliographical details on over 120,000 modern U.S. and international authors. Coverage dates: 1900 - Current.
Contemporary Literary Criticism SelectAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors, with biographical information, principal works, and critical sources for further research. Coverage dates: 1997 - Current.
Dictionary of Literary BiographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
The essays of the Dictionary of Literary Biography outline the lives and careers of nearly 10,000 authors from all eras and genres and summarize the critical response to their work.
Drama OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Drama Online provides contextual and critical background for theatre through scholarly works and practical guides. Critical interpretations, theatre history surveys, and major reference works on authors, movements, practitioners, periods, and genres are included alongside performance and practitioner texts and acting and backstage guides. Also includes monologues and plays. Coverage dates: Ancient times to Current.
Entertainment Industry Magazine ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Behind-the-scenes activities of the entertainment industry, including: cinema, television, film, music, radio, and stage, through primary source materials. Complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000. Coverage dates: 1894 - 2000.
Essay and General Literature IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Essay and General Literature Index cites records contained in collections of essays and miscellaneous works published in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada. Coverage dates: 1983 - present.
Gale Artemis Literary SourcesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This interface allows you to search all of Gale literary resources, including Contemporary Authors, Literature Criticism Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Material includes critical essays and articles, biographical information, and critical sources for further research. You can also search a particular publication or electronic resource. Coverage dates: Varies.
Historical Abstracts with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Peer-reviewed journal articles covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada). Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
Humanities Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Humanities Full Text includes many important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and indexing for almost 700 journals, 470 of them peer-reviewed, dating back to 1984. The database also includes original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Coverage dates: 1984 - present.
Humanities International IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes and abstracts over 2000 titles in the humanities from articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Coverage dates: 1925 - Current.
JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Cross-disciplinary, scholarly electronic journal collection containing the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. Especially strong in Arts and Sciences. Coverage dates: Varies.
MLA International BibliographyAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
MLA International Bibliography is a bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations produced by the Modern Language Association. This electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1926 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage dates: 1926 - Current.
New York TimesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: June 1980 - present.
New York Times (Historical)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: 1851 - 4 years ago.
North American Theatre OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Curated collection of primary-sources, websites, and streaming media of theatre and drama.
Open Book PublishersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
A Social Enterprise run by scholars who are committed to making high-quality research available to readers around the world. We publish monographs and textbooks in all areas, and offer the academic excellence of a traditional press, with the speed, convenience and accessibility of digital publishing. All our books are available to read for free online. Coverage dates: 2007-present.
Performance Design Archive OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more.
Play IndexAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Play Index covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. This database covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements. Coverage dates: 1949 - present.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s. Coverage dates: 1890-1982.
Scribner WritersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Scribner Writers contains the full text for more than 1600 critical essays on the lives and works of important authors from around the world. Entries include hyperlinks for cross-referencing, citation, and biographical information. Coverage dates: Varies.
Shakespeare Survey OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A yearbook of Shakespeare studies and production. It makes all issues available. Survey publishes the best international scholarship in English. Each volume is devoted to a theme, play, or group of plays, and contains reviews of that year's textual and critical studies and of the year's major British performances. Coverage dates: 1948 - Current.
Theatre and Drama PremiumAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
More than 13,000 scripts, plus original and contextualizing materials including designs, reference material, and ephemera. Also audio and filmed performances Coverage dates: 1300 - Present.
Theatre in VideoAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Theatre in Video contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. This release contains 279 titles, representing hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Coverage dates: 1936 - 2005.
Twayne's Authors SeriesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Twayne's Authors Series contains the full text literary criticism about the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. Content is from nearly 600 books from the following three print series – United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors Coverage dates: Varies.
US Major DailiesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The content is available by 8am each day. Images are not included. Coverage dates: 1985 - Current day.
World Shakespeare Bibliography OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced worldwide. Coverage dates: 1968 - Current.
Return to top