Databases by Subject/Topic:
Anesthesia

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

Best Bets for Anesthesia


EMBASE is a Major International Biomedical and Pharmaceutical database that contains over 19 million indexed records from 1974 to date, and has an overlap of titles with MEDLINE; EMBASE has been referred to as the European MEDLINE.  The database offers its own life science thesaurus called EMTREE. 
Coverage dates: 1947 - Current.
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Web of Science searches thousands of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. A unique feature of Web of Science is the ability to see which articles have cited a given article. Web of Science offers the ability to search many databases simultaneously, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and several others.
Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
A comprehensive abstract & citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books & conference proceedings. It can also be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents and journals.
Coverage dates: 1823 to present.

More databases for Anesthesia


The online AMA Manual of Style has a streamlined interface, intuitive search and browse, and personalization features, so finding what you need in the Manual is easier than ever.
Coverage dates: Current.
Includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations in total, including 70,000 new citations for theses and dissertations. The new citations include a link to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.
Coverage dates: 1902 to present.
Provides medically accurate and detailed 3D graphic rendering of human anatomy. PALMS included – Flash Card system that uses automated sequencing for memorization.
ClinicalKey gives access to all of Elsevier's current medical and surgical content, including First Consult. ClinicalKey’s content includes thousands of textbooks and top medical journals, providing the most current clinically relevant evidence-based answers, as well as expert commentary, MEDLINE abstracts and select third-party journals.
Coverage dates: Current.
Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs) provides a readable, digestible, clinically focused entry point to rigorous research from Cochrane systematic reviews. Designed to be actionable and to inform decision making at the point of care, each Cochrane Clinical Answer contains a clinical question, a short answer, and an opportunity to "drill down" to the evidence from relevant Cochrane reviews. The evidence is displayed in a user friendly format, mixing narrative, numbers and graphics.
Coverage dates: Varies.
The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases and it is an authoritative full-text source of evidence over health care. It includes systematic reviews, clinical trials, research studies, clinical answers, and more.
Coverage dates: Varies.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global searches millions of dissertations and theses from around the world, and has over one million dissertations in full text.
Coverage dates: 1743 - Current.
DynaMed is a clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.
Coverage dates: Current.
Install EndNote on your personal computer to help manage your research. Organize references, save images and PDFs in any language, search the contents of PDFs, create citations and bibliographies as you write. It has more advanced features than RefWorks, but is not as easy to use. You may need a class or tutorials to learn EndNote.
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information. This database provides exclusive access to the following JBI resources: Systematic Reviews, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, and more.
Coverage dates: 1948 - Current.
Medcom offers hundreds of nursing videos focused on teaching best practices. Videos cover a wide range of topics including anatomy and physiology, basic clinical skills, infection control, medication administration and much more.
Coverage dates: Current.
MEDLINE Complete provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE Complete searches citations from over 5,600 current biomedical journals and full text for over 2,000 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, more than 1,980 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.
Coverage dates: 1865 to present.
Merck Index Online searches chemical information for thousands of substances and reactions. Merck Index focuses on chemicals, drugs, and biologicals.
Coverage dates: 1890s - present.
Nursing Reference Center offers staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, nurse faculty, and hospital librarians the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases, patient education, and drug & reference information from top publishers.
Coverage dates: Current.
Electronic flash cards that quiz students using an automated sequencing procedure to assist in memorizing anatomy at the appropriate time.
These videos cover all major drug classes and include: mechanism of action, key pharmacokinetics, major therapeutic uses, and common and serious adverse effects. Incorporates relevant physiology, pathophysiology and biochemistry.
A subscription service for prescribers to keep them up to date on new developments in drug therapy. Prescribers receive very short concise updates and advice. The Detail-Documents provide in-depth coverage answering many specific questions related to each topic.
Search all Proquest databases: historical newspapers, other primary sources, dissertations, current periodicals, etc. from a single page. Documents can be limited to desired source(s) from the results list.
Coverage dates: 15th century - present.
ScienceDirect provides access to hundreds of full-text journals published by Elsevier in a wide range of subject areas including science, engineering, technology, medicine and business.
Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care; it also searches across other content types including images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Wiley Online Library is a multi-disciplinary database that provides access to millions of articles from thousands of journals, thousands of books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works.
Coverage dates: Varies.

Alysha Sapp

email: alysha.sapp@tcu.edu
phone: 817.257.5348
office: Reference office
Chat with Alysha (opens in new window)
  • TCU
    Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Faculty, staff and graduate students only
    Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Brite
    Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Clark Society
    Available to Clark Society members.
  • All patrons
    Available to all patrons.