Databases by Subject/Topic: Genealogy

Browse databases by title:

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P-Q R S T U V W-Z 0-9

Browse by subject/topic:

Browse by type:

New databases     Databases under trial

Icons:

  • Icon - all TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Icon - fac/staff/grad Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Icon - Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Icon - Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • Icon - all patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Genealogy

AncestryLibraryAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Genealogy database providing access to U.S. and U.K. census data, ship's logs and passenger indexes, vital records, WWI draft cards, maps, reference books, and more. Basic library subscription. Documents in the library can be saved or emailed. Users will need a personal subscription to create a tree online. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1940.
Heritage QuestAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Genealogy research indexing census, ship passenger lists, marriage, and other vital records as well as family history full text books. Access to PERSI, the premier source for journals relating to genealogy. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1930.
MyHeritage Library EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
MyHeritage Library Edition contains millions of historical records from around the world. Records include historical photographs; citizenship & naturalization records; the USA federal census (1790-1940) and the UK census (1841-1901; tombstone photos; military records, immigration records, and passenger lists; directories, guides, references, biographies, and yearbooks; wills and probate records. Coverage dates: 1538-present.

Music/Media Librarian

Cari Alexander

c.alexander2@tcu.edu
817.257.7667

office: Music/Media Library (Map)

More databases for Genealogy

19th Century UK Periodicals: Series 1 - New ReadershipsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Primary source periodical literature from the UK. Coverage dates: 1800-1900.
19th Century UK Periodicals: Series 2 - EmpireAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source periodical literature from the UK. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
Academic Search UltimateAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A massive multidisciplinary resource with an abundance of full text. Abstracts and indexes 10,000+ journals and includes the full text of 6,500+ journals. 9000+ of the journals are peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Access NewspaperArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains historical newspaper articles. Coverage dates: 1759 - 2006.
Access World NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains more recent local, state, national, and international newspaper articles. Coverage dates: Early 20th century - Current.
African American Studies Center Online (Oxford)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for African American Studies. Limited to 3 users at once. Coverage dates: 1619 - Current.
America: History and Life with Full TextAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Secondary sources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, covering American history. Coverage dates: 1955 - Current.
American Civil War Research DatabaseAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains images and information about soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Coverage dates: 1861 - 1865.
American History, 1493-1945Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Contains primary source documents relating to American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century. Coverage dates: 1493-1945.
American Indian Histories and CulturesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection about Native American history. Coverage dates: 1492-present.
America's Historical NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Historical newspaper articles published mostly in the 18th Century. Coverage dates: 1690 - 1876.
AP ImagesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
A keyword searchable archive of photos, graphics, text, and audio from the Associated Press. Coverage dates: 1840 - Current.
Archive FinderAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
A current directory describing over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. Limited to 4 users at once.
ArchiveGridAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
An important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. It provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide. Coverage dates: Renaissance - 20th century.
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent newspaper from the South. Coverage dates: 1868-1945.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Black newspaper from the South. Coverage dates: 1931-2003.
Austin American-StatesmanAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent Texas newspaper. Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
Bibliography of Native North AmericansAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index of books and articles published about Native Americans. Coverage dates: 16th century - Current.
British and Irish Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of approximately 500 women, as revealed in diaries and letters. The collection now includes primary materials spanning more than 300 years. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database. Coverage dates: 1500 - 1950.
British Library NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains the full runs of 48 newspapers selected by the British Library to represent 19th century Britain. This collection includes national and regional newspapers. Collection also includes newspapers that lead particular political or social movements. The penny papers are also in the collection. Coverage dates: 19th century.
British Periodicals Collection I-IVAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Almost 500 journals, newspapers and magazines spanning the late 17th through early 21st centuries, and covering a range of topics such as literature and drama, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Coverage dates: 1681 -2005.
Catalog of U.S. Government PublicationsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Finding Aid for federal publications. Includes links to those publications available online. Coverage dates: 1976 - Current.
Census 2010Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Contains census data from the 2010 Decennial Census of the United States Coverage dates: 2010.
Chicago Tribune HistoricalAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the midwest. Coverage dates: 1849-1993.
Daily Mail Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent British newspaper. Coverage dates: 1896-2004.
Dallas Morning NewsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search for full-text articles from this local Texas newspaper. Coverage dates: 1885 - Current.
Dallas Morning News Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search for full text articles from historical editions of this newspaper. Coverage dates: 1885 - 2016.
Early American ImprintsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history. Coverage dates: 1631-1819.
Early English Books OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Early English Books Online contains full text of over 125,000 titles, spanning 1473 to 1700, from Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue, Wing's Short-Title Catalogue, the Thomason Tracts, and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Works are from Great Britain, British North America, and texts in English printed elsewhere. Coverage dates: Varies.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online contains searchable digitized materials for every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom and thousands of American works. Coverage dates: 1701 - 1800.
Fort Worth Star-TelegramAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Search for full-text articles from this local Texas newspaper. Coverage dates: 1902 - Current.
Fort Worth Star-Telegram Digital Historical ArchiveAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
This database provides full text of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram from 1902 through 1991. Search options include the ability to limit to articles, matrimony notices, birth notices, and obituaries. Classified and display advertising, photos and graphics are also included. Major news topics and events are highlighted. Coverage dates: 1902-1991.
Government Periodicals Index (ProQuest)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Index of periodicals produced by various government agencies. Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
Handbook of TexasAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association and University of Texas at Austin. Coverage dates: 1999.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains more than 500 key Latin American journal articles with information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States dating back to 1970. It contains complete bibliographic citations and limited full text. Coverage dates: 1970 - Current.
Harpers Weekly 1857-1912Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Weekly American newspaper. Coverage dates: 1857-1912.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 (HAN) represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Including many newspapers published bilingually in Spanish and English. As part of the America's Historical Newspapers, Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 can be cross-searched with Early American Imprints. Coverage dates: 1808 - 1980.
Historical Statistics of the United StatesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Statistical data representing United States history. Coverage dates: 1790 - 2000.
Houston ChronicleAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper in Texas. Coverage dates: 1901 - Current.
Images of the American Civil WarAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Photographs, Posters, and ephemera documenting military and civilian life during the American Civil War. Coverage dates: 1860 - 1865.
Index to Jewish PeriodicalsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Index to Jewish Periodicals indexes contemporary Jewish history, activity and thought and Middle Eastern affairs from more than 160 journals. Coverage dates: 1988 - Current.
Irish Newspaper ArchivesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
The Irish Newspaper Archive contains over 6 million pages in over 500,000 issues of Irish newspapers. Coverage dates: 1763 - Current.
JSTORAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Cross-disciplinary, scholarly electronic journal collection containing the full text of back issues of journals in many different subject areas. Especially strong in Arts and Sciences. Coverage dates: Varies.
Los Angeles Times HistoricalAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the West Coast. Coverage dates: 1881-1991.
Nation Archive Premium EditionAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent American weekly magazine. Coverage dates: 1865 - present.
New York TimesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: June 1980 - present.
New York Times (Historical)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Prominent newspaper from the U.S. Coverage dates: 1851 - 4 years ago.
Newsbank NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Search more than 200 local, regional, national, and international newspapers and news magazines. Coverage dates: Varies.
Newspaper SourceAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Search U.S., international, and regional newspapers. Television and radio news transcripts are also available. Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Primary source document collection covering the 19th century. Coverage dates: 1790 - 1900.
Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides access to full text newspaper content and images from a range of U.S. urban and rural regions during the 19th century. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration, and antebellum life. Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
North American Indian Thought and CultureAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Indian Thought and Culture represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Coverage dates: 17th - 21st centuries.
North American Women's Letters and DiariesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women. Material has been indexed for more thorough searching. The materials have been carefully chosen using leading bibliographies, supplemented by customer requests, and more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. Includes biographies. Coverage dates: Colonial America - 1950.
Official Museum Directory OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Online version of the Official Museum Directory. Includes all types of museums within the United States. Limited to 1 user at a time. Coverage dates: Current.
Oxford Reference OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Brings together 100+ renowned dictionaries and reference works. Cross-searchable access to comprehensive coverage 20+ subject areas. Note: The TCU Library has purchased access to the Core Collection, the Premium Collection, and the Literature Collection. Limited to 5 users at once.
Pittsburgh CourierAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent black newspaper from the east. Coverage dates: 1911-2002.
PressDisplayAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Access over 400 newspapers in full-color, full-page format. Includes advertisements, classifieds, and more. Search by keyword or just browse your favorite paper. Coverage dates: Up to 60-day backfile.
Primary Sources (Gale)Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
Grad Student/Faculty/Staff only. Search all Gale British and American primary source documents from a single site. Includes newspaper and magazine archives, as well as pamphlets, letters, books, etc. Use the "Searching Databases" dropdown to focus on specific collections. Coverage dates: 1500-2012.
Project MUSEAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Provides full-text to over 300 high quality humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. Every journal is peer-reviewed. Coverage dates: Varies.
Proquest DatabasesAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Search all Proquest databases: historical newspapers, other primary sources, dissertations, current periodicals, etc. from a single page. Documents can be limited to desired source(s) from the results list. Coverage dates: 15th century - present.
Readers Guide Retrospective 1890-1982Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Electronic version of an essential print reference, provides indexing for millions of articles in over 500 leading magazines. Includes peer-reviewed and consumer publications. Key finding tool for many 20th century publications where indexing did not begin until the 1980s. Coverage dates: 1890-1982.
Salem Press OnlineAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Salem Press Online provides online access to reference books published by Salem Press. Coverage dates: Prehistory - 21st Century.
San Francisco Chronicle HistoricalAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Prominent newspaper from the West Coast. Coverage dates: 1865-1922.
TCU Daily SkiffAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Indexes these TCU publications: The Skiff, Image, TCU Magazine and TCU This Week. (The Skiff portion covers issues from 1993 to current.) Coverage dates: 1993 - Current.
Texas Digital Sanborn MapsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Coverage dates: 1867 - 1970.
Texas Historical NewspapersAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Collection of newspapers published in Texas. Coverage dates: 1829 - 1922.
Texas Records and Information Locator (TRAIL)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.Available to all patrons.
Provides access to Texas state government information from over 150 Texas agencies. Topics include education, business, economics, geography, government, history, laws and regulations, cities and counties, and more. Coverage dates: Current.
Texas Reference CenterAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Reference source for Texas history and culture, including biographical information. Coverage dates: Current.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-onwardsAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Offers every issue of The Times of London newspaper from 1785 to 2008 in a digital format. Coverage dates: 1785-six years before Current year.
Washington Post (Current)Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Full text articles from prominent U.S. newspaper, complete through current day. No images. Coverage dates: 1987 - Current.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900, is a subject bibliography of 50,000 publications intending to include every periodical and newspaper published on a regular basis, from daily to annually, in every language, within England during the time period. Coverage dates: 1800 - 1900.
World Newspaper Archive - South Asia Newspapers, 1864-1922Available to current TCU students/faculty/staff.
South Asian Newspapers, 1864-1922 provides online access to ten newspapers published in India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka in the 19th and early 20th century. It covers the aftermath of the Indian Rebellion; construction of railroads; effects of British Colonial rule; Hindu-Muslim conflicts; life on coffee, tea and rubber plantations; Morely-Minto Reforms; formation of the Indian National Congress; start of Mahatma Gandhi's independence movement, and more. Coverage dates: 1864-1922.
WorldCatAvailable to current TCU students/faculty/staff.Available to Clark Society members.
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Millions of bibliographic records in 400 languages and different formats such as books, computer programs, films and slides, journals and magazines, articles, chapters and papers, manuscripts, maps, musical scores, newspapers, sound recordings and videotapes are included. Coverage dates: Before 1000 BC - Current.
Return to top