Government Information Databases

Database Icon Legend

  • TCU Available to current TCU students, faculty, and staff.
  • Faculty, staff and graduate students only Available to TCU faculty, staff, and grad students only.
  • Brite Available to Brite students, faculty, and staff only.
  • Clark Society Available to Clark Society members.
  • All patrons Available to all patrons.

Best Bets for Government Information


Finding Aid for federal publications. Includes links to those publications available online.
Coverage dates: 1976 - Current.
Contains these U.S. Government documents: Regulatory information (such as, Federal Register, Laws, etc.), Legislation (such as Congressional Records, Congressional Bills, etc.), Economic Indicators, Court Opinions, Constitutional analysis, and more.
Coverage dates: 1994 - Current.

More databases for Government Information


Contains images and information about soldiers, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War.
Coverage dates: 1861 - 1865.
Contains primary source documents relating to American history from the earliest settlers to the mid-twentieth century.
Coverage dates: 1493-1945.
A current directory describing over 220,000 collections of primary source material housed in repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom, and Ireland. Limited to 4 users at once.
An important destination for searching for historical documents, personal papers and family histories held in archives throughout the world. It provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions. It includes nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives worldwide.
Coverage dates: Renaissance - 20th century.
Index of books, periodicals, government documents, and newspaper articles published in the 19th century. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from the Friends of the TCU Library.
Coverage dates: 1801 - 1900.
Contains census data from the 2010 Decennial Census of the United States
Coverage dates: 2010.
Contains primary source materials from newspapers, government documents, broadsides, and ephemera.
Coverage dates: 1840 - 1877.
ProQuest Congressional hearings provides full text to every published and unpublished Congressional hearing.
Coverage dates: 1824 - Current.
Original narrative accounts of major legislation considered by lawmakers during congressional sessions.
Coverage dates: 1945 - Current.
In-depth analysis about current and controversial issues, including viewpoints from different sides of each issue.
Covers the status of current legislative issues including bills and amendments in Congress, committee and floor activity, as well as debates and roll-call votes.
Coverage dates: 1983 - Current.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data.
Primary source books, pamphlets, and broadsides that describe life in early American history.
Coverage dates: 1631-1819.
A listing of Government contracting opportunities over $25,000. Here you can search, monitor and retrieve opportunities solicited by the entire Federal contracting community.
An official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Coverage dates: 1994 - Current.
Index of periodicals produced by various government agencies.
Coverage dates: 1989 - Current.
Encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture published by the Texas State Historical Association and University of Texas at Austin.
Coverage dates: 1999.
This digital collection includes books and primary source documents from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, and libraries around the world.
Coverage dates: Varies.
Fully searchable PDF image-based government documents and legal research materials. Coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials and 2,300+ scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and the full text of state and federal case law.
Coverage dates: Late 18th century to present.
Statistical data representing United States history.
Coverage dates: 1790 - 2000.
Provides full text for legal information. Case studies, law journals, and analysis are available. Subjects include: criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment.
Coverage dates: 1965 - Current.
Online full text for many of the top consumer legal reference books, plus thousands of forms from Texas and other states to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds.
Coverage dates: 2000 to Current.
MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online.
Peer-reviewed journal articles for topics in military science.
Coverage dates: Varies.
Provides news articles for financial, medical, and legal information. Transcripts and wire services are also available. Other special features include: Company Profiles, SEC filings, Biographies, Country Information, Federal and State Cases, Patents, Broadcast Transcripts, and more. Replaces LexisNexis Academic. Saving documents and searches, and annotating documents are a few of the additional features after registering for a personal account.
OCLC Electronic Collections Online is a multidisciplinary collection of thousands of journals published in electronic form. Many journals are available in full text.
Coverage dates: 1995 - Current.
Search all Proquest databases: historical newspapers, other primary sources, dissertations, current periodicals, etc. from a single page. Documents can be limited to desired source(s) from the results list.
Coverage dates: 15th century - present.
Contains primary source documents relevant to the drafting of the United States Constitution and early presidential papers.
Coverage dates: Late 18th - early 19th century, 20th century.
Creates fast, intuitive, and appealing maps and reports to help users visually analyze and understand demography and social change throughout history. An invaluable repository of information, the site currently includes the entire US Census history from 1790 to 2000, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000. Users can customize, save, print, and email maps and reports and export them to a variety of programs and statistical packages for further analysis and use in reports and presentations.
Coverage dates: 1790 - present.
Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers.
Coverage dates: 1867 - 1970.
Provides access to Texas state government information from over 150 Texas agencies. Topics include education, business, economics, geography, government, history, laws and regulations, cities and counties, and more.
Coverage dates: Current.
Reference source for Texas history and culture, including biographical information.
Coverage dates: Current.
U.S. Government publications including Congressional reports, documents, executive agency reports, departmental reports, and legislative reports, all published under the directive of Congress. The acquisition of this database was made possible by a gift from Dr. Paul Boller.
Coverage dates: 1789 - 1969; 2004 - Current.
Return to Top
Beth Callahan
Beth Callahan
Senior Library Specialist
Phone: 817.257.7669
Email: b.callahan@tcu.edu
This Month in
Government Information
Cover of document

Library of Congress Completes Digitization of 23 Early Presidential Collections


The Library of Congress has completed a more than two decade-long initiative to digitize the papers of nearly two dozen early presidents...