Beginning Monday, May 13, 2024, all three floors of the library’s westside, including access to the Main, Music and Federal Government Documents collections, will be closed the entire summer 2024. The library’s westside will undergo a significant HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) system maintenance project to enhance the overall infrastructure of the library.

During this closure, all physical materials, including the Federal Government Documents Collection, MUST BE requested online for retrieval and pick up. Visit the FAQ at for directions on requesting materials from the closed section. Hold requests are available for pick up Monday through Friday. If you require physical access to a Federal Depository you may visit one of the following depositories locally:

Dallas Baptist University (0594A)
Dallas Public Library System (0594)
Southern Methodist University (0600)
University of North Texas (0608A)
University of Texas at Arlington (0607B)
University of Texas, Dallas (0594B)

If you require Government Document research assistance you may contact our Federal Depository Coordinator, Beth Callahan, at 817/257-7669 or The library’s eastside will remain open for our regular hours of operation throughout the project and services and resources are still available. If you have any questions, please contact us at

Virtual Shelf Browser

Using the Virtual Browser

Below is a list of the Departments and Agencies featured in our collection. The letter(s) at the beginning of the SuDoc number indicate which Department/Agency produced a grouping of documents.

If you click on a particular letter you’ll then be shown a list of all the documents created by that Department or Agency by topic.

Once you’ve chosen a specific topic of interest click on the SuDoc stem. You’ll be taken to the TCU catalog where it will list all the documents we have in our collection with that SuDoc stem.

For more detailed information on the SuDoc classification system go to the Core Documents research guide.

A Department of Agriculture (1862- )
AA ACTION (1971-1994)
AC Arms Control and Disarmament Agency (1961- )
AE National Archives (1934- )
AR International Bureau of the American Republics
B Broadcasting Board of Governors/International Broadcasting Bureau
C Department of Commerce (1913- )
CC Federal Communications Commission (1934- )
CR United States Commission on Civil Rights (1957- )
CS Civil Service Commission (1883-1979)
CSA Community Services Administration (1974-1981)
CZ Canal Zone Government (1951-1979)
D Department of Defense (1949- )
E Department of Energy (1977- )
ED Department of Education (1979- )
EP Environmental Protection Agency (1970- )
ER Energy Research and Development Administration (1975- 1977)
FA Commission of Fine Arts (1910- )
FAA Federal Aviation Agency (1958-1967)
FCA Farm Credit Administration (1933-1939, 1953- )
FCD Federal Civil Defense Administration (1951-1958)
FE Federal Energy Administration (1974-1977)
FEM Federal Emergency Management Agency (1979- )
FHF Federal Housing Finance Board (1989- )
FHL Federal Home Loan Bank Board (1955-1989)
FL Federal Housing Administration (1939-1942)
FM Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service (1947- )
FMC Federal Maritime Commission (1961- )
FO Foreign Operations Administration (1953-1955)
FP Federal Power Commission (1920-1977)
FR Federal Reserve System Board of Governors (1935- )
FS Department of Health, Education and Welfare, etc. (1939-1969)
FT Federal Trade Commission (1914- )
FTZ Foreign-Trade Zones Board (1934- )
FW Federal Works Agency (1939-1949)
GA General Accounting Office (1921- )
GP Government Printing Office/Superintendent of Documents (1895- )
GS General Services Administration (1949- )
HE Department of Health and Human Services (1980- )
HH Department of Housing and Urban Development (1965- )
HS Department of Homeland Security (2003- )
I Department of the Interior (1849- )
IA United States Information Agency (1953-1978, 1982-1999)
IC Interstate Commerce Commission (1987-1995)
ICA International Communication Agency (1978-1982)
ITC United States International Trade Commission (1981- )
J Department of Justice (1870- )
L Department of Labor (1913- )
LC Library of Congress (1800- )
LR National Labor Relations Board (1935- )
M National Military Establishment (1947-1949)
MB Board of Mediation (1926-1934)
MC Maritime Commission (1936-1950)
MS Merit Systems Protection Board (1979- )
N Department of the Navy (1798-1947)
NA National Academy of Sciences (1863- )
NAS National Aeronautics and Space Administration (1958- )
NC National Capital Planning Commission (1952- )
NCU National Credit Union Administration (1970- )
NF National Foundation on the Arts and the Humanities (1965- )
NMB National Mediation Board (1934- )
NS National Science Foundation (1950- )
OP Overseas Private Investment Corporation (1969- )
P United States Postal Service (1970- )
PE Peace Corps (1982- )
PM Office of Personnel Management (1979- )
PR President of the United States
PREX Executive Office of the President (1961- )
PRVP Vice President of the United States
RC Federal Radio Commission (1927-1934)
RR Railroad Retirement Board (1935- )
S Department of State (1789- )
SBA Small Business Administration (1953- )
SE Securities and Exchange Commission (1934- )
SI Smithsonian Institution (1846- )
SSA Social Security Administration (1995- )
T Department of the Treasury (1789- )
TC International Trade Commission (1974-1981)
TD Department of Transportation (1966- )
TDA U.S. Trade and Development Agency
VA Department of Veterans Affairs (1930- )
VE Federal Board for Vocational Education (1917-1933)
W Department of War (1789-1947)
X Congress
Y 1 Congress: House and Senate reports, documents, bills, journals, etc.
Y 3 Congress: Commissions, Committees, Boards
Y 4 Congress: Hearings, Committee Prints, Publications
Y 6-10 Congress: Impeachment Proceedings, Memorial Addresses, CBO
Beth Callahan
Beth Callahan
Senior Library Specialist
Phone: 817.257.7669
This Month in
Government Information
Cover of document

Member Roundtable: The Space Race Returns

The House Select Committee on the Chinese Communist Party held a roundtable titled "The Space Race Returns" on April 17th at 9:30 a.m., E.T...